We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really great burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #19 of 326 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SoCal, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love Ruby's burgers and malts. The one on the Oceanside pier is great for out-of-town visitors--you walk them along the pier to the restaurant & then are surrounded by the ocean views as you chomp on their wonderful food. I love to bring out of town guests here for breakfast or lunch. The Ruby's in the Carlsbad Outlet Mall is convenient and well run for a break from shopping. Food is excellent, service great & the booths are nice & roomy. I have been to both locations often & have never been disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravGal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    132
    46
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haven't been to a Ruby's I didn't like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good food, great service, awesome place to take the family, their shakes are to die for if you like the really thick ones and they do serve a lot so it is a dessert destination if you don't make it past the entree......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barnes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Flavorless and greasy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The burgers looked good but the meat itself lacked flavor. My onion rings were drippy with grease and again had little flavor.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CougDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Eats in Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ate twice here. After the first meal I was so happy that I inquired about a franchise for my home town. The service was impeccable. We ordered onion rings for a starter and they were on the table in under three minutes. Searched out Ruby's diners for the rest of our trip. Ohhhh soooo good. Your welcome in advance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ruby's Carlsbad is a good option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Little kids (and big kids masquerading as Dad) love Ruby's. Great service and trains whizzing around overhead. We liked having a meal after shopping at the outlet village.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing