We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time and wish we could go back”
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #13 of 339 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First time and wish we could go back”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First visit was fun and food was great. I got the turkey sandwich with cranberry sauce on a nice, soft bun with unlimited fries. Everyone else got burgers which they enjoyed. They even had sweet potato fries which most of the group loved. I tried the Shirley Temple shake which was Sprite and Cherry mixed. It came with the biggest straw I ever saw. Made sipping the shake so much easier. Wish there was a Ruby's near us!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    143
    47
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Burgers and Shakes”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a great place for a family. There were 6 of us and we all had burgers which were very tasty and quite big. They come with fries with different seasonings. The blue cheese and parmesian was our favorite. Shakes were very good as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicted2Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special for a 50's diner retro”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Food was good and service was at the same level. There is an extensive breakfast menu, but almost everything had cheese on it, which I cannot eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dagda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great food and service. We had both breakfast and lunch and it was delicious. Walking distance from the hotel.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stina2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My Grandkids Favorite Place”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Whenever you are in the mood for burgers and shakes, this is the best place. My husband loves their malted Belgian Waffles. There is no other restaurant that comes close to their flavor, per my husband.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelhussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing