We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good build your own burgers and great hummus!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar

Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 335 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cannon Road
Alberta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good build your own burgers and great hummus!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had to grab a quick lunch before going to a soccer double header in LA with my family and grabbed some burgers and an order of hummus for the road.

Would recommend in a pinch, but if hungry for a very good meal, go to West.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twenty20Mgmt, Manager at Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Alberta,

Thank you for visiting us at the Twenty/20 and for your positive review. We strive to provide outstanding service and delivering fresh and tasty meals. We strongly suggest when you have a little more time, to come back in and experience everything we have to offer; beautiful view, ambiance, stellar service and most of all our chef's specialty cuisine- the total package.
We look forward to the opportunity to win your loyalty.

Sincerely,
Twenty/20 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    99
    45
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and an overpriced pretentious wine list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

An old adage about restaurants goes - a view, ambience, good food - pick two. Twenty 20 scores well on view and ambience. Service was only okay. We visited as locals on a Tuesday evening. The place wasn't busy but we felt ignored. Even getting cocktails at the start seemed slow. The Tapas appetizers were only okay which makes them poor value. The main dishes - with the exception of the crispy salmon - were disappointing (hamburger and halibut). By the time we included a rather ordinary Santa Maria Pinot Noir dinner for 5 cost over $300. Not crazy expensive - if the quality had been adequate. But it really wasn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twenty20Mgmt, Manager at Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello Tim S,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere at the Twenty/20. We use your feedback to train our staff and grow further as a team. We strive to provide excellent customer service, it does not sound like we achieved our goal during your experience. We have addressed the issues you mentioned that will help our ultimate goal of striving for excellence. We would like to invite you back in and look forward to the opportunity to earn your loyalty . Feel free to email me directly at lschiller@sheratoncarlsbad.com so I can ensure that you are well taken care of during your next visit.

Thank you for your honest feedback and we look forward to seeing you again,

Sincerely,
Twenty/20 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Beware, if you are getting their breakfast buffet. Drinks are not included. OJ's, coffee are all separate. Breakfast was average, not enough choices for the money you pay.....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmdr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twenty20Mgmt, Manager at Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi JMDR,

We would like to thank you for visiting the Twenty/20 and for the candid feedback. We utilize feedback like yours to help us grow further as a team.
Next time you are in town, I strongly suggest that you come in and try us for lunch or dinner as I believe that we will not let you down with our house specialties and our competitive prices. Our happy hour is an amazing steal also, 7 days a week from 3-6pm we offer half off selected tapas and drink specials. We hope that you have to opportunity to visit us again.
Warmest Regards,
Twenty/20 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better food and wine than expected, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We never expect much from restaurants associated with hotels, even resort hotels, so this was a pleasant surprise. The service was friendly and attentive and the food was very good.

We had a good Italian bottle of wine; tried the lamb meatballs as an appetizer (very good, a bit of a kick, good flavor) and I had the salmon which was very good. The kids buffet was free, really, even for two 13-year-old boys. It was taco/quesadillas and they ate well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BGBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twenty20Mgmt, Manager at Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Beth,

We appreciate the great review and thank you for visiting us during your stay. Sounds like you received a great deal during your visit. :)
Our children's buffet is actually free for children ages 3 and under and $10 for ages 4-12. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Take care and thank you again,
Twenty/20 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent locally grown food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

They do their best to buy locally and it shows. The chef usually has recommended wine pairings with meals and it is always very good. Gluten free menu available.

I don't have a young child, but did see a really nice large spread for kids to have their own buffet. Looked like all the classic kid foods, mac and cheese, chicken nuggets, fresh fruit, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mohc962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twenty20Mgmt, Manager at Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello mohc962,

Thank you for your kind words and patronage, we truly value your feedback and look forward to seeing you next time. I will pass along the compliment to our Executive Chef as well.

Warmest Regards,

Twenty/20 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing