We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews and because it was in between a couple of locations we wanted to visit. We were not disappointed! The rooms were clean and above average. We loved the setting of the hotel - nice big comfy lobby, great pool, nice fire in the outdoor fireplace at night.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and the food was great. They have the standard buffet food but also a cook who will make you an omelet, french toast, etc. Had dinner there one night and it was equally as good.

The staff was so friendly and helpful. They will shuttle you within a few miles of the hotel. Legoland is very close by. We also took the coastal train down to San Diego to the zoo.

The sunsets were beautiful. We didn't really spend any time on the beach because there were so many other things we wanted to do and it was a bit too cool. If you're going for time on the beach, know that you have to cross a very busy highway and climb down a tricky pathway. But it was beautiful to look at!

There were lots of restaurants and stores nearby, including an outlet mall. A couple of fun family places we ate were Sammy's Woodfired Pizza (Yum!! - cotton candy is an actual dessert there!) and In-N-Out Burgers.

The only negative is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    334
    129
    38
    25
See reviews for
477
229
55
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Great place to stay, right across from the beach. However, if you are in town for the Marathon they close the road so make sure you have a way to get back after the race to your room. The front desk people were very helpful and the room was great. The only bad thing was it was late in the day everyday when housekeeping came in (late afternoon).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank printcess64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel was fantastic great rooms, friendly staff, clean everything! would recommend this hotel to anyone. It made us feel at home and just wonderful. I would stay here again without a doubt. great pool and jacuzzi too. esp around the holiday time just great!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monistef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating during our one night stay here. The fresh cookies are a nice touch. Unfortunately, their rooms with 2 queen beds are only available on the first floor and didn't have an oceanview. The hotel is not in walking distance to the village but it's quiet and peaceful and with easy parking. I called the front desk to request extra coffee mugs, coffee and creamer to make some coffee in the room. A few minutes later, a gentlemen showed up with three mugs filled with cream and no coffee. He didn't speak English so I gave up trying to explain and we got coffee elsewhere. Overall the room and bathroom were clean and simple and our stay was nice.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bhatnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated directly opposite the pacific ocean. Access to the beach is a little trick but, if you walk a little down the road you can step directly on to the beach. Hotel is well kept with friendly staff. Nice size rooms with all the home comforts. Great food in both restaurant and room service. While i stayed there they had movies on the lawn with free popcorn (great for famillies!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britintheus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

A nice hotel, located south of carlsbad at the beach (just a street in between). The staff is very helpful und friendly. Clean and nice rooms. Parking is complimentary as well as the WiFi internet. The pool area is beautiful but even there were menu and cocktail cards there was no waiter/ess to serve someone which was rather disappointing because they charge you a 3$ +19% gratuity to the bill for organizing the stuff on your own.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWGlider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlesiggy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad is a very clean, cheerful, friendly hotel with free parking. The beds are very comfortable. We vacationed there when it had been only open a few weeks and have returned every year for the past 10 years. The staff is very cheerful and helpful. Our recent stay was upgraded to a Ocean View with champagne because we let them know (in advance) it was our anniversary. In the evening the front desk has free cookies and popcorn. Right across from the ocean, the beach access is a little tricky. The reesturaunt is not fancy but it serves a great breakfast. Overall this hotel is very pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing