We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveler rating
743
394
190
62
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
394
190
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street great location beach access ocean view carlsbad beach outdoor fireplace very nice hotel parking fee breakfast buffet front desk staff easy access hotel restaurant business center short drive san diego shuttle service pool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This great hotel has it all. It is just across from the beach, so you don't have to walk very far in order to go to the ocean. During the summer, they have outdoor movies too. I liked the fact that it wasn't very far of a drive from Legoland as well. If you don't mind a quick walk, the outlet mall is just a few blocks away and offers a lot of high end merchandise like Ralph Lauren, and you know the rest. I ate at the restaurant and it had a very nice breakfast, a little costly, however, if you don't mind the little walk, there's a McDonald's just up the street. All in all, I liked the hotel and extras.

Room tip: Rooms on the West are quieter and away from the I-5 highway.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottBrigham_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to watch the sun set. I also saw some dolphins from my room. The water is across the road and there is no immediate access to it without going down the "cliffs" on one of the "paths" forged by previous visitors to the beach. (This isn't good for the cliffs and is a bit on the dangerous side, particularly for families.) It appeared that there might be better access about 1/10th of a mile south of the hotel. If you want to be able to sit and listen to the ocean, you'll need to go over/down to the beach because the afore mentioned cliffs and the traffic block most of the sound. The hotel itself is clean and nice. Though it looks like there might be balcony rooms from the pictures, there really aren't balconies. There are a few rooms with "Juliet" balconies, but nothing you can sit out on. The location is about a mile south the NRG power plant. My GPS was a little confused and the sign for the hotel isn't overwhelming, so I went by the hotel initially. Again clean hotel, nice staff, pretty good location since it is closer to the water than most hotels in the Carlsbad area.

Room tip: If you don't select full or partial ocean view you'll have an opportunity to possibly have a view of a Shell station. (That Shell station had gas $.30 cheaper than the stations just beyond it closer to I-5.)
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to write about our hotel. The best beach access from our hotel is located to the left of the hotel a short walking distance. We hope you also were able to enjoy our many outdoor seating areas and take in the amazing sunsets.
Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Regie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights, as my wife had a conference nearby. Hotel was clean and rooms as well. The staff was very nice. Ocean across the street but getting to walk the beach, you had to go a little bit further. Served coffee and tea in the morning.would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havingfuntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review from your last visit. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our restuarant and take advantage of the proximity to the beach.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,
Regie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location for activities in the area especially Legoland. Legoland is only a couple miles away and they will shuttle you there and back promptly. Staff was excellent! Loved the sunsets!! Pool and hot tub were great for the kids and they made a lot of friends while there. Access to the beach is a bit difficult but was still a great location. I highly recommend an upgrade to ocean view since then you will get the best views of the sunsets. I highly recommend this hotel for it's location and great staff.

Room tip: Upgrade to ocean view for the sunsets!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Awesome location. A quick walk across the street to a fantastic view of the ocean and lovely walk either above or on the beach. Hotel staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable. Will come back again.

Room tip: An ocean view will be appreciated
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billwmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews