We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A favorite hotel for this road warrior!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A favorite hotel for this road warrior!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I absoluately love this hotel. The beach, the pool area, the breakfast area are always favorites. The breakfast is always excellent, although I must complain that I always put on weight when I stay here :) Staff are super friendly and helpful for anything you need. The hot-tub is the social center of the place and I always find great people to conversate with.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank striker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Road Warrior,

We are more than happy to have you when you travel through Carlsbad, and we thank you for your review. We always strive to make sure our guests are as happy as possible, and sometimes that involves delicious food from the restaurant, or our fresh-baked cookies made daily. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you soon!

Forever in your service,

The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    286
    106
    34
    15
See reviews for
423
192
50
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 3 nights in late May. We had read excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and the reviews were bang on. The hotel is nicely situated close to the Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Legoland and Carlsbad Beach. It provides easy access to go to San Diego (about a 30 mins drive) if you want to go to Seaworld and the Zoo. Service at the hotel was excellent. We arrived early and got our room immediately, when we asked for extra towels, we got them right away. We ate breakfast at the hotel on our last morning, which was excellent and at a very good price. The pool area is very nice too.

Room Tip: Get a sea or partial sea view. It's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJDFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for the review, and doubly thank you for the awesome pictures! Carlsbad is one of the most beautiful cities in California, and you caught an amazing sunset, one of the many we enjoy year round. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you again!

Forever in your service,

The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Every employee that greeted us during our two night stay was incredible. My husband and I felt like long lost family! The rooms were spacious and clean. It is located across the street from the ocean and you can follow the surfer trails down and get on the beautiful beach. We visited on a holiday weekend, so the outdoor fireplace seating area was occupied, as well as the heated pools. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, with a few nooks for privacy. It is one of the nicest hotel experiences we have ever experienced, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting an ocean view or pool view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that so many of our team members had a chance to have such a positive impact on your trip. As you mentioned our pool and fire place do get a little busy in the summer, but I do hope you still got a chance to enjoy those amenities. We hope the remainder of your vacation was excellent, and we gladly look forward to having you again!

Forever in your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The last thing a business traveler wants to hear when he is checking in at 12:30 a.m. from a 5-hour flight and 3-hour drive is “we have some good news and bad news.” When the front desk clerk told me this, I literally saw the fluffy white pillow I was looking forward to vanish. He told me there was a leak in my room and they would be putting me up for free in another hotel 3 miles down the road. Ok – for business travelers, a free room does not mean a thing other than an explanation on the expense report. What I was rewarded with was a free night at the Park Hyatt (previously Four Seasons) hotel. Nice. Then, an upgrade to an Ocean View room when I returned plus a complimentary breakfast. Cool. I have always (four times now) stayed at this hotel in Carlsbad (sometimes with family) and I will return again. What would have spelled disaster with an airline, kept a loyal customer happy. It really came down to customer service and Hilton came through. Mahalo and Aloha.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice and even though right on the road, the double pane windows block the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for your review. Checking into a hotel that does not have a room is a frustrating experience that we never want to have. When the unthinkable happens though we do try our best to make sure our guests get not only what they pay for, but better and at no expense to you. It is our mission to make sure every single aspect of your stay goes well, and we are so glad to know that even in this less-than-ideal situation we were able to keep you happy. If there is ever anything we can do for you please let us know, and we hope to have you again soon!

Forever in your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a difference arriving during the day and staying more than 13 hours. Had visited back in February and only noticed what I didn't like. Had to return to the area for a wedding, and decided to try it again, after all, it WAS super clean and had a great location.

This time our reception at the desk was pleasant, and the good customer service was evident throughout the weekend with different staff and at different times. Hotel was super clean (as before) and well-maintained. No issues at all, other than the weather - which was cold!

Not only do I heartily recommend but am planning my third stay there and hope to do business there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy that we had a chance to host you at our property again. We accept all forms of criticism, both good and bad and we use it to make ourselves better every day. Thank you for letting us bring you back and thank you for giving us the tools to make our property better for yourself and all other guests! We can't wait to have you back a third time!

Forever in your service,

The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just across the freeway from the outlets in Carlsbad. A little tricky to get to even through you can see it just across from the other side of the freeway. If you're lucky enough to get the room facing the side you will see the ocean otherwise the back is the view of the freeway and you will see and hear the train pass by as it is across from the tracks. The rooms are well insulated however so the sound of the train coming is seldom heard and unnoticeable. There is no functional beach across the hotel so if you want to play near the water you may have to walk up towards the stand heading north just a few blocks. The fitness center is not bad with treadmills and weight sets. The dining area is standard as on most HGI chains. Great pool area for everyone and a spacious patio to kick back and enjoy the sun which is a must see!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BedBuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review Bedbuggin! We are so absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strice daily to make sure that travelers with us enjoy every aspect of our hotel, and it looks like you did. If you require anything further, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We look forward to having you again!

Forever in your service,

The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our wonderful experience at this hotel required a rare but public comment. For our family vacation to Legoland/Seaworld/Disney we stayed a couple nights at this hotel and a couple nights at another hotel connected to legoland. We only wish we would have spent the entire week at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach...family friendly, wonderfully pleasant staff, clean. We travel frequently and this is one of, if not the best vacation hotels we have experienced. thanks much

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LegoVacationFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

We are most glad that your stay was so wonderful. We wish you could have spent your entire trip here as well! Thank you so much for the kind words, we look forward to having you again soon!

Forever in your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, complimentary shuttle service, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing