We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiling staff, lovely room and pool and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY Metro area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smiling staff, lovely room and pool and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I love to bike when I travel. I asked the front desk manager at 5pm on a Saturday if there was any place to rent a bike. He had it delivered within the hour and even returned it for me. And he smiled the entire time. This hotel has its own personality - a friendly welcoming vibe that as a Mom traveling with kids, I appreciate. My room was spacious and clean, the shuttle was convenient for trips to town and the breakfast was hot and generous.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmomcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    337
    132
    39
    25
See reviews for
484
234
56
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The set up at the hotel which was Excellent. The staff running the hotel were Excellent & the little treats & extras they provide were Excellent and would encourage me to consider other Hilton Garden Inn hotels where they have them. So if you are travelling to San Diego you should definitely consider this whether with family or not as many people using the hotel where frequent visitors no surprising with the Excellent service on offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We would like to take a moment to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com. Thank you for making mention to our amenities and extras in our hotel. As a hotel we feel it is the little things that makes a stay so memorable, and we are so glad that it had that effect on your stay. As you know, guest reviews like yours are invaluable to our success, so we wish to extend a big thank you from all of us at the Garden Inn! We look forward to having you again.

Always at your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn
Guest Service Agent
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is in a great area, right across the street from the beach. With a beach view it's a beautiful view to see the sunset. My family and I stayed here and the kids loved it. They show kids/family movie on the lawn at night on a big screen, provide blankets and pillows, along with popcorn and cookies. Very close to Lego Land, popular beaches in Carlsbad, the mall and lots of nearby restaurant. Their restaurant is convenient, food is good and price even better. For around $10 adult, $6 kids you get a buffet breakfast (good food), dinner menu is reasonable priced. Highly recommend this hotel, didn't think I was going to enjoy my stay because I'm use to staying at 4-5 star hotels. I have no complain about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We would like to take a moment to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com. It is our goal for all of our guests to have a 5-star experience, so if there was anything we could have done differently to earn that fifth star from you we would love to know about it. Please feel free to contact us directly with any questions or comments you may have. Thank you again, your feedback is invaluable to our continued success.

Always at your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn
Guest Service Agent
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My 8-yr-old and I spent 3 days there last week on a pilgrimage to Legoland . . . all about Legoland! No car, shuttle only, tired camper needing food at the end of the day. For this trip, the Hilton Garden Inn was almost perfect. The staff was super nice and helpful, the stuffed seal at checkin made my son's day after a long travel day. The free shuttle service w/in a 5 mile radius meant NO RENTAL CAR - just make sure to be flexible on times - we never waited more than 1/2 hour from asking, but plan accordingly, it is first come, first serve. My only comments, which were pretty minor - I would have preferred a room where I didn't have to go back outside to get to it, with so many kids there they should have a kids menu on the room service menu (they do have kids food, but needed to get it carryout from the restaurant). The staff was great, except one guy who would do a great job connecting with you, then 2 hours later not remember he ever met you, ended up feeling very fake -- let's say I cut down the tip the next time around! Front desk and food service people were all outstanding! (Also, we had two different reservations based on partial points, partial pay and they handled it seamlessly!) Finally, my son fell asleep too early, but they show family movies on the lawn with popcorn and beverages (for the adults too!) - they even asked him if he had a request they would try and show it. (That was Ryan at the front desk, super nice)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelplan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Thsi hotel knows how to greet guests with children....each child received a wonderful stuffed animal. All staff at the hotel were very friendly not just at the front desk. If you want the best omlette you have ever had, made fresh to order by a wonderful chef, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graneyquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I am a frequent traveler and have made the Hilton Garden Inn my home away from home when in San Diego County. The staff have absolutely welcomed me into the HGI Carlsbad Family whether I am travelling alone, with colleagues, or my family. Their dedication to anticipating my every need makes this property a true pleasure and joy to visit again and again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We would like to take a moment to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com.

As a frequent guest with out hotel you have seen all ins and outs of our operation and you know us better than many guests we may have. We sincerely hope that every time you visit us it feels like a new experience, and it seems that you have been quite satisfied with us. We feel that our hotel should be a second home for all of our guests, and we are so happy to know that you feel that way for yourself. Thank you again for the great review, and we look forward to having you again soon.

Always at your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

"Steps From The Sand," the advertising said of this place. Only if you are part Mountain Goat or willing to take a swan dive off a 2 1/2 story cliff! Hilton has puffed its beach access to the point of distortion. Aside from that, and the price, this is a great place to stay. I was going to give it 4 1/2 Stars, but upon further thought, it deserves 5 Stars.

It is a bit removed from everything so you usually have to use a car. However, the hotel has made a nice accommodation for this: a complementary 24 hr. shuttle within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Clean and well appointed rooms, great staff, great pool and spa, and a great bar and restaurant on site add to the experience, one we have enjoyed.

Other pluses. The chef and cooks actually prepare a wonderful and fluffy egg white omelet. Good ones are hard to find. They also make excellent cookies Oatmeal Raisin, Macadamia and Chocolate Chip cookies everyday about happy hour. Popcorn too. All complementary. Cookies so good that I skipped the booze to go for the cookies. The other food is better than average for the area.

Quiet and a wonderful view from the ocean side rooms. This place is a keeper.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UltimateServiceGuru, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Greetings from the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach while recently visiting the north San Diego area. We appreciate you mentioning our proximity to the coastline. While we are not directly on the beach, we are within convenient walking distance and there are multiple access points to the lovely Carlsbad coastline. We also offer the use of our shuttle as you mentioned to other lovely Carlsbad beaches to ensure all of our guests have a great experience.

It is our hope that every guest who stays with us has a "10" experience, and as you know we depend on guest reviews such as yours to ensure that we are exceeding expectations. We are so glad that you enjoyed our property and we hope to have you again soon.

Always at your service,
The Team at the Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
760-476-0800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Address: 6450 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located across the street from Carlsbad State Beach. Featuring ocean views, full service restaurant & bar, spacious guestrooms, heated pool and spa, fitness center, business center, and much more! All guestrooms are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, complimentary wireless high speed internet, two dual-line phones, and Television with on demand movies. Rooms feature Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds, 32' HDTV and Herman Miller chairs. 2 electric vehicle charging stations with dedicated parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing