We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right at the ocean, a block away from shops & a great entrence to a walking trail along the coast Danielle & Greg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2010

the only negative that we found was that there wasn't a microwave offered to us in our room. the room came complete w/a mini kitchenette (stove, dishes, coffee pot, sink, refrigerator, silverware, utensils, pots & pans) but no microwave. due to the fact that we were just a random over night guest for one night, a microwave would have been ideal.

the desk staff was absolutely awesome! supplied extra coffee & gave clear directions to the locations we were looking for.

Danielle & Greg Johnson

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danigirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

Needed alittle time away so decided to go to the beach. Needing two bedrooms we located this spot that had rooms available. Staying aweek the kitchens in the unit made life alot easier for the kids and myself. The staff gave me several ideas of things to do for the kids during the day and for myself in the evening. As usual I forgot somethings and the store on site was hhandy to replace what I forgot. Now heres the kicker upon leaving I left a watch of value to my surprise it was still there when I returned later in the day. So to the staff I say thank you and you will see me again this summer and in the future

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojogunPalmdesertCa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Wonderful hidden treasure with low prices this winter during the recession. We got a studio with semi-ocean view for $99/night with frig and stove and a week later booked a suite for $149/night with a fabulous ocean view with stove, frig, pots and pans and coffee maker. Pool and jacuzzi. Laundry room. Free parking. Clean. Located across the street from the public beach entrance and on a quiet street, right near many great restaurants ranging from fancy to subway. We're from Seattle and loved the carved kitschy palm trees and sunshine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovebeachesSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Close to the beach, the grounds are very tropical and nice. We had a great time here.
the staff were awesome and very helpfull!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank histarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

What can I say? Everything about this little slice of Paradise keeps me going back every year over and over! The staff is very friendly and helpful and willing to help with whatever your needs are! Its not too often I find that is Southern cal. The property is extremely well taken care of, I could in the the courtyard all day and take in the beautiful flowers and trees. The rooms are completely functional, relaxing and beautiful all at the same time. Sometimes we don't even make it to the beach because we have so much fun hanging out at the resort! I can't get there often enough!! I HIGHLY recommend this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bash1Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The room was MAGNIFICENT. We stayed in the Tahitian suite known to us as room 101. It had tropical murals that brought the outside landscaping and beach into the room. The room had that Tommy Bahama look to it making you feel like you were in Hawaii. The outside landscaping was a tropical paradise with carved palms, BBQ, tiki tourches, etc it was very pleasant and relaxing. I would highly recommend this place for a romantic get away...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rruiz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I will recomended to any body for busness or leisure

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ligas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $169 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing