We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It's sometimes not easy to find a "nice" place to stay when traveling with dogs - 2 of them to be exact. However, this time we hit the jackpot! Not only was Miles (at the front desk) helpful and friendly, but upgraded us from an 'old' studio to a 'new' one bedroom suite. They make you feel right at home. The grounds are stunning, with tropical palms, luxurious plants and hundreds of colorful flowers. The suite was clean, beautifully decorated and dog friendly. And, the location can't be beat! We walked to great restaurants and were just across the street from the beach stairs. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My first stay at this resort (May 9th - 14th) and accommodations are better than any other I've experienced in Carlsbad. Was upgraded from a studio to a 1-bedroom (thank you, Todd!) with nice kitchen, modern bathroom, very comfortable king-size bed and nice linens. Let the sound of the ocean waves lull you to sleep. Nice patio with table and chairs for dining along the street was also great for relaxing and watching the beach life go by! Fire-pit area is nice place to relax in the evening and socialize with other guests. Landscaping is lush, very lovely and well-kept. Accommodations were as nice as any timeshare in the area! I own at Grand Pacific Palisades and have also stayed at Carlsbad Inn. I really appreciate the quaint and intimate atmosphere as well as the amenities that are available here. This is a great location!! No need for a car .... everything you need is nearby and walk-able.... or bike!

Room Tip: Stayed in room #128 which faces the beach and is along the street. Interior rooms all face inward to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P2Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is super fun. They have tiki gods carved into the palm trees. Many of the rooms have been recently (and tastefully) renovated and have full kitchens and are very comfortable and clean. And THEY ALLOW DOGS! There is a nice little pool and hot tub, and lots of outdoor seating areas and grills. There are gas fire pits to sit around at night, and the beach is across the street. "Downtown" is a block away. The location couldn't be better, and the staff are super friendly and helpful. It really is everything you could want in a beachy vacation rental/motel/hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarcieFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our first stay and will definately come back. Room was recently renovated and lovely. great to have a full kitchen and party shower. landscaping is lush. Pool refreshing. a minutes walk to the ocean or to downtown Carlsbad. Todd and Myles at the front desk were very professional and helpful with our questions about restaurants, things to do, etc... and ensured we had everything we needed. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 718Sarah718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Returned to Ocean Palms to only find more improvements than the last stay. The new rooms are perfect! You cannot beat fully renovated accommodations with full kitchens. The landscaping is lush with tiki palms and includes fire pits to enjoy. The property location is two blocks from the train and bus depot, right across from the beach. Parking is understandably limited if you have a car but there is no parking charge. Very family and pet friendly. The Carlsbad Village is wonderful. Many fantastic restaurants, bars, and shops are all within walking distance. The staff is excellent. Housekeepers worked hard. Would definitely recommend. Seems like ownership has really done a fabulous job putting money back into the property.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a remodeled unit. The luxury one bedroom suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for my friends 50th Birthday. We had a great time. Having a kitchen was the best. Able to make drinks and appetizers made it so much more relaxing. Walking distance from the shops and restaurants was convienent. Hope to go back for a weekend with my Hubby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine92057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location but the only good thing about our room was the bed. My husband would not walk on the carpet without his flip flops. The notices from the outside come right in. No hair dryer. And the bathroom included its own plunger...what does that say. Just checked out the rest of the hotel which was renovated. Bummer that we got the really bad room. Wish they would have disclosed that when we checked in.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.8 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $169 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing