We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better everytime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Better everytime!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Returned to Ocean Palms to only find more improvements than the last stay. The new rooms are perfect! You cannot beat fully renovated accommodations with full kitchens. The landscaping is lush with tiki palms and includes fire pits to enjoy. The property location is two blocks from the train and bus depot, right across from the beach. Parking is understandably limited if you have a car but there is no parking charge. Very family and pet friendly. The Carlsbad Village is wonderful. Many fantastic restaurants, bars, and shops are all within walking distance. The staff is excellent. Housekeepers worked hard. Would definitely recommend. Seems like ownership has really done a fabulous job putting money back into the property.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a remodeled unit. The luxury one bedroom suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    152
    24
    17
    36
See reviews for
460
326
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for my friends 50th Birthday. We had a great time. Having a kitchen was the best. Able to make drinks and appetizers made it so much more relaxing. Walking distance from the shops and restaurants was convienent. Hope to go back for a weekend with my Hubby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine92057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivera Village
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location but the only good thing about our room was the bed. My husband would not walk on the carpet without his flip flops. The notices from the outside come right in. No hair dryer. And the bathroom included its own plunger...what does that say. Just checked out the rest of the hotel which was renovated. Bummer that we got the really bad room. Wish they would have disclosed that when we checked in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I first visited Ocean Palms Beach Resort in the 80's with some family friends who vacationed there. I was sold and brought my children there every year while they were growing up. They are now 33 and 34. I am now bringing my grandchildren there every year. My husband and I have also gone alone without the children. It is the perfect spot in Carlsbad. Some of the staff have been there for many years and thats comforting. I go for a week and don't have to get in my car. We walk across the street to the beach. After a great day playing on the beautiful beach, we go up and get in the jacuzzi and the swimming pool. In the morning we can work out in the little gym on site. There is a little grocery store on site. We walk to a wonderful restaurant for dinner. It is within walking Distance of all your needs. We walk to the train station and catch the Coaster to San Diego for a day at the Zoo or a baseball game. I cant remember a year when I haven't stayed here and I recommend it to everyone I can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After a short stay in 1981 I fell in love with the location, peace, sounds and smells of, at that time Ocean Manor. The following year, 1982, we brought my mom, the kids and grandchildren. The tradition of an annual family vacation in Carlsbad, specifically Ocean Palms Beach Resort, has continued to 2013. The family has increased with the addition of a great grandson and once again you will find us at the beautiful Ocean Palms Beach Resort the last week in June. By the way, mom will be 97 and is looking forward to this year's stay. I might mention the staff, a great many of them have been there almost as long as we have been staying there, is the absolute best. That, in itself, says a great deal about the management as far as I'm concerned. What can I say except I love Ocean Palms Beach Resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have used Ocean Palms Beach Resort many times over the past 15 years both as a couple and with our entire family--children and grandchildren. We have found the setting perfect for relaxing, close to the beach and surrounding activities in the San Diego area. The upgrades that have taken place at Ocean Palms over the years has made the rooms and facilities even more comfortable. The staff have always been helpful and the rooms well maintained. We highly recommend Ocean Palms Beach Resort to anyone interested in have a relaxing and enjoyable experience in Carlsbad.

Room Tip: The room selection is all there based on the needs of the traveler from studio, to one bedroom to tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LindonGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall, you can not beat the location of this property. It is literally 50 feet from the beach and you will be in walking distance to great dining options. I have been coming to this place for over 3 years since I was a child with my parents. They have really upgraded the property grounds over the last 10 years! I will continue to take my family there every summer.

Room Tip: Newer remodeled rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spense16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,323 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing