We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I booked this hotel after seeing it on the internet for a weekend away with my husband. I have to admit, when we drove up and checked in, I was taken aback because it looked like a motel rather than a resort. I almost told my husband to keep driving and go to the Hyatt instead - I am the spoiled LA type. But, the staff was very nice, and once we checked into the room, I was pleasantly surprised and completedly happy. The room was not a room at all - but rather a one bedroom apartment. Large, full kitchen, hallway - very different than a typical hotel. My husband and I walked to the beach, enjoyed the town, the restaurants, the local farmers market, and then loved coming back to this home away from home. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    150
    24
    17
    35
See reviews for
446
322
51
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a nice studio there and we were very pleased with the room. We want to come back and stay for a longer time. Thanks so much for the great trip!

Room Tip: Bring swim trunks and a towel. The place is right on the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was a 5 star experience all the way. I loved it and had just the best week ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We've been to Carlsbad many times but this is the first time at OPBR. We had a 'not yet renovated' room and it was just fine. Clean, neat, well maintained but just a bit "dated". The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was perfect: directly across the quiet street from the beach access to the ocean. We parked on Friday and didn't move the car til we left for home since it's easy to walk everywhere. The grounds, plantings, pool etc are very well cared for and beautiful. We loved the carved palm trees (How do they do it!?) and the fire pits.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8tklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Barry Blue and his staff gave us excellent service. We felt there was a very personal and sincere interest in making sure our stay was enjoyable.
The room and property were clean and welcoming. The location was wonderful, across the street from the beach, walking distance to restaurants and shops. A relaxed, low key atmosphere, but with all amenities we needed. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Ocean Palms is one of the best places to stay in Southern Cal!! My boyfriend and I absolutely love it here.....we come out to stay for a weekend about four or five times each summer. The location is perfect, literaly steps from the beach. The ammenities and the staff at Ocean Palms can't be beat......Barry Blue Sr, you rock!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great place to stay. Great location. Parked the car for 3 days and was able to walk to everything we needed to do or see. The beach is across the street. Plenty of great dining facilities very close.
Hotel staff is very nice and friendly. We will definitely return for another visit.
The weather there is always great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.0 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Address: 2950 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For generations, families visiting San Diego's North County for fun and relaxation on America's greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village, home to one of Southern California's best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites, 1, 2 and 3 Bedrooms, some with ocean views, every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether it's adjoining rooms or a suite, we can get you the space you need at a rate you'll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, fresh-baked cookies, Danishes, and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. We're pet friendly, there's free WiFi, a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who can't get enough of the beach, so we provide free beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street, and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland? We're only a 10 minute drive. We're also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station, so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego, from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego, explore wineries and microbreweries. Welcome to your beachside home away from home. Come to the Ocean Palms, where cool Pacific breezes sweep across the enchanting Village of Carlsbad. There is no better place for families to capture the magic of Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Ocean Palms Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing