We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2005

The Tamarack Beach Resort has a very nice atmosphere and a cozy feel. It has a great view of the beach, which is only across the street. The rooms are very pleasant, with a homey feel to them. Also has a great pool, spas, BBQs, rec room, and gym. It is also in a great location, close to good restaurants and shops. I go to the Tamarack Beach Resort and I would love to live in this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    89
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
136
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

We stayed at the Tamarack for four nights in July. On the plus side, the staff was friendly and they do offer nice touches such as free morning papers, pool toys, and planned activities. The outdoor public areas and pool are attractive and very clean. A nice courtyard with patio furniture and grills is available for guest use. The location is convenient to Carlsbad Village and the beach, but be aware that Carlsbad Blvd. is a very busy 4-lane street. If you have an ocean view room, you won't necessarily be able to hear the surf over the traffic, and that's something of a disappointment. There is only one hotel actually on the beach in Carlsbad, though.

The breakfast is simple (large muffins, bagles, and croissants that look like they're from Sam's, yogurt, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, and milk) but it is in fact free for those staying in hotel rooms. As an earlier review indicated, there is a price list posted on the table, but there is (now) also a sign that indicates that the breakfast is free for the listed (hotel, not condo) room numbers. You simply give your room number to the attendant; nothing is billed.

On the other hand, I agree that "tired" is a good adjective for the room decor. Our room was clean but the carpet and bathroom are especially showing their age, as is the recreation room. I have a sense that it has something to do with the property being majority time share with a limited number of hotel rooms. (No one so much as mentioned the words "time share" to us, btw, though there is a resale desk in the lobby). For a place that caters to families, the lack of laundry facilities for non-condo guests is an inconvenience. In another location the rooms would seem quite overpriced, but summer in Southern California is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ShelbyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

Just came home from a kid's weekend in Carlsbad to see LegoLand and the beach. We joined another family and chose the Tamarack hoping for a good quality hotel, a step above a Red Roof Inn, as we new we would be spending a lot of time at the hotel with 5 children.

On the plus side for the hotel/time share facility, they cater to families - the pools and hottubs are kept clean daily and the famed rec room, while old and tired, does provide entertainment for the young set - 2 pool tables and a pingpong table and mini arcade. The free videos are a nice touch when you want to entertain the little ones back in the room. Also, the hotel rooms were LARGE. We had 2 double beds and easily fit in a cot and had lots of room to spare! We had a partial ocean view ( meaning if you stepped out onto your patio and peered out, you could see that magnificent ocean!). Room was clean, but tired decor. Only used the AC once to try to dry out the steam from the shower, but it smelled, so stayed with the screen door for circulation. Location, while not oceanside, is convenient with direct access to crosswalk to beach access ramp.

All in all, we found that $200 was a starting point for 3 star properties during this season. It seems high for what we got. I wish we had stayed at the similarly priced Carlsbad Beach Inn across the street and on the ocean side. Its grounds were nicely kept and it looked like a beach resort for Carlsbad's Village.

Helpful?
12 Thank lapwing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2005

I was able to book an online reservation for this resort which is predominantly time share for only $159/night. The first floor rooms are for nighly rental. The room has 2 queen beds and they have first floor units on the side of the property that are less noisy. They assured me the breakfast was complimentary. This is a 5 star resort. I was trying to book a last minute weekend trip and found the Best Western Lodge to be 154 per night (a 2.5 star resort across the street from the beach) and the Best Western Beach Terrace in for $172/nt (another 2.5 star resort on the beach. I read the good reviews of this place and went directly to their web site to submit a reservation request. (----) Considering the amenities (game room, Bkft, heated pool, across from beach) this seems like the best value in Carlsbad. Most of the less expensive room in Carlsbad all seem (from their reviews) that they are directly off the expressway and noisy.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2005

My husband used to stay here as a kid so we thought it would be great to revisit this resort. The building is beautiful, and the location is wonderful, right across from a great beach. We also liked the fact that we could walk to several excellent restaurants. BUT, we were assigned to room 109, and we quickly found that this resort was extremely loud. We heard doors slamming all over the resort complex at all hours. Quiet hours were not enforced or respected. The tile outside the doors is spanish style and when anything rolls (luggage, luggage racks, housekeeping carts) over it it sounds like it is going to crash right through your walls! Children were already in the pool screaming at 6am, and housekeeping is working at 7am with their walkie talkie's blaring full volume. We heard random slamming noises and machinery noises throughout the night. The air conditioning is excessively noisy, so much that you cannot sleep when it is on. Our neighbors in room 106 asked to be moved and their wish was granted. Our TV cable kept flashing in and out while we were trying to watch, and the beds were less than comfortable. The "complimentary" continental breakfast is NOT complimentary (there were price tags on each item of breakfast food). Of the two jacuzzi's, only one would heat correctly so we all had to pack into one. We stayed two nights and we are very sorry we paid $300 for doing so. We are in our late twenites so we aren't being overly sensitive "codgers"...I think this place is only good for people with kids that are up early, and people with the nice timeshares on the higher floors that may not be effected by all the noise. We will not go back.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2004

My wife, 10 year old son, and I spent two nights here in August. Nice, pleasant staff. Clean room, good amenities.

What made this such a great place is the recreation room with pool tables and ping ping, and the free boogie boards we could use at the beach just across the street.

Would highly recommend this place for families.

Helpful?
14 Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2004

We can't stop raving about Tamarack! They offer a variety of adult and child-based activities, or you can do nothing at all. Centrally locatated in Carlsbad so you can walk to shops and restaurants. Or you can take Amtrak into San Diego. Directly across the street from the beach - you can hear the ocean from your room! We will definitely go back next year. See you there!

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Dini's by the Sea, a local favorite is located on the premises, best known for there Sunset Dinners.Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator,In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing