We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Vacation with friends and family.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vacation with friends and family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the timeshare portion of this resort. We were on the third floor and had a partial ocean view. We were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful ocean view in the morning and the sunsets in the evening. We had a one bedroom that was very large and was big enough for my family on the weekend and my friends during the week. We stayed a week. The Village is within walking distance with many good restaurants. The beach is accross the street with very easy access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redhatelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    89
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
135
106
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here Aug 3-8 2013 for a family vacation. This hotel is across the beach but have to cross a busy street to access the beach. My sister and her family had always stay here for the past 4 years vacationing in Carlsbad and loves the location. We were given a suite on our first night but was told we were going to move the next day to another room which was fine us. The room had an ocean view and we eat our breakfast on the balcony enjoying the ocean view. The rest of our stay we still had an ocean view room and ate breakfast every morning on the balcony or watch the sunsets in the evening if we were in our room. It's not a fancy hotel but accommodation are clean and comfortable. There are activities for the kids ie rock painting class, playing pool, table tennis or borrow movies and watch it in your room's dvd. The pool is small and there are 2 hot tubs.The are restaurants are all around the hotel and are walking distance. The new sandwich place on the next block is very good and cheap. There is a very basic continental breakfast and no eggs or bacon offered.
The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful as well as the hotel maids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RN2GO925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I read the review prior to our stay. Some mentioned that the rooms smelled funny and I thought so too but nothing to be concerned about, just a kind of old smell. The rooms have been updated with newer fixtures, toilet, flat screen tv, etc. The room and bathroom were clean and we enjoyed our night stay. As we were packing my husband noticed the biggest cock roach he has ever seen and that is saying a lot since we are from Houston TX. Roach motel?, probably not but I don't think I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tluedtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel/timeshare unit is across from a busy street, not directly on the beach like many other options in Carlsbad. We stayed 4 nights and our room was extremely small. The rec room is a nice addition because our kids enjoyed it. The location was pretty good. Not far to many good restaurants. Unfortunately it was just a very average stay. The front staff almost never acknowledged our presence. Hotel rooms are only the 1st floor, so you can't possibly move up, and the first floor street view would be so noisy. A free breakfast is provided but it is essentially just carbs, we generally made our way down to Daily News or Café Elysa. At almost 200 a night, I definitely expected better. Housekeeping was great.

Room Tip: King rooms near the hallway are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DestinationAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews. A beach view , location sounded great. What they don't show is the pictures the highway in between you and the beach. I thought I would be able to sit on the balcony and enjoy my ocean view with my husband for our anniversary. Well my room was on a corner next to a very busy crosswalk and stoplight, room113. At all times there were droves of people who could literally stare into my room. The stoplight and people kept me from enjoying my balcony. When I called to switch rooms the hotel was full so I was stuck there. Then to make matters worse it was so loud due to the yelling people walking by outside in and out of the hotel , and cars and loud motorcycles it was almost impossible to sleep. This went on most of the night. Paper walls. It was a good location to walk to restraints and right across the street from the beach which was great, but if your looking for a comfortable nights sleep and a date with with a loved one skip this hotel. And do not get stuck on that corner , it really ruined the room. Still waiting for a manager to call me. The person at the front desk said she wished she could do something for me but I had to talk to the manager. I really feel like I paid for a miserable nights sleep with no nice ocean view. I feel ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this because it is within walking distance of my son 's house. The price is $150/ night and I wasn't expecting much for that price, given the location! It turned out to be great. Right across the street from the water, within walking distance of all sorts of great restaurants, clean and neat, large room with refrigerator and 2 queen beds!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnHankinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is half hotel, half timeshare condos. Great location right across the street from the beach, very nice accomodations. Not the fanciest rooms, but good enough. Nice, clean, and spacious. The ocean view rooms are so nice! Large balcony. They have a nice heated pool with two jacuzzis, Recreation room, barbecues, and nice courtyards. Lovely resort and my family and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lavarock777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#7 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Dini's by the Sea, a local favorite is located on the premises, best known for there Sunset Dinners.Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator,In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and resort amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing