We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are looking for the view and a convenient location, this is it!
We had ocean front accommodations with 2 bedrooms/laundry/full kitchen. The view from the balcony is phenomenal and you are just a short walk away from all sorts of restaurants.
The front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. Any requests for extra paper towels, detergent, or servicing of the unit were fulfilled immediately.
The resort felt somewhat run down. We usually wouldn't care a whole lot that it was old, as long as it felt clean. But that wasn't really the case, but this too might be attributed to the resort being old. The dishes were filthy and that was due to the dishwasher not functioning properly. The dishes came out partially dirty. But naturally the cleaning staff should have noticed that when they were putting the dishes away.
At some point the mattress cover slid off and revealed stains. That was a bit unsettling. BUT... the mattress was super comfortable and we had very restful sleep.
We had toilet flushing issues on several occasions, one requiring service, which was lightning fast and friendly.
The fan above the stove was not functioning properly. At one point I was pan-frying fish and several minutes into it noticed that the room was filling with smoke. Turns out the fan was sucking the smoke in from the pan and pushing it right back out toward the ceiling.
There were a few issues with the showers as well. The knob regulating water temperature was spinning right through. This got fixed immediately. The temperature, however, never got above a comfortable warm, and believe me, I'm no fan of burning hot water. But I was cold.
We then attempted the shower in the guest bath. It must have been designed for very short people (although I am 5 ft 2 in). My husband, obviously, had to lean to get his hair wet under the shower. There was, however, one day when the water temperature was wonderfully hot.
I feel terrible complaining, because the overall experience was pretty good and we did have a good stay. But it would have been a lot better without these several annoyances. I will keep watching the reviews in hopes that some improvements would be made because we would love to visit this resort again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the downstairs restaurant. It can get very loud in the evenings.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dibadlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Tamarack third floor #332. No worries about finding a place to park when going to the beach. Just walk across the street from your condo and your at the beach. Watch a beautiful sunset every nite from your own balcony or just sit there and watch the ocean. Location is great and the condo's are set up where you can cook every day and save money. They even have BBQ grills to use by the pool. The washer and dryer are small stacked but better than not having one at all. We will be back. Had a great time and the staff was wonderful. Wi-fi worked great so no negitive reviews here. Everyone should have a five star stay.

Room Tip: best are on the third floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twinkeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The glorious sunsets and refreshing ocean air awaits your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Started with the check in. Two resevationist looking bored and treated us like we were bothering them. One was dishoveled with a wrinkled shirt. I'm surprised Management allows they behind the front desk. They only had one reservation for me and it was in a handicap room. They had to "find" my other reservation that was double partial ocean view room for my kids. The handicap room is 114 and is so small that it is uncomfortable. My husband and I kept walking into one another and no space to move around. No closet to hang my clothes and the bathroom has no counter space. It was annoying to live out of my suitcase all weekend. Since they didn't tell me I was in a handicap room when I made the reservation I asked them to change me to a different room but they said they were sold out. I later learned they had a room "on hold" for a guest that may come in. The second room was huge. Only the room smelled like dirty socks. The screen to the balcony didn't slide. We had to lift it if we wanted to go out on balcony. For the smell we just kept the doors open for fresh air but it didn't cure it all the way. I did call the General Manager to let them know that I should have been told about the handicap room when I made the reservation. She "Shelly" said there is nothing she can do for me and told me to call the Resort Manager on Monday since he was out for the weekend. How convenient huh. I'll see what they do for me but honestly, it isn't about the money. I would have liked to stay and a comfortable room, not a matchbox. Then I learned this is the only handicap room at the resort. They should turn a regular room into handicap! Don't make them stay in a subpar room, they deserve better. You can hear everything from your room as they walls are so thin. Even footsteps. Elevators are scary, take forever and the underground parking is a joke. You can't get in or out unless the front desk pushes a button. So, you are stuck unless they see you! On the other side the location is great. They offer a continental breakfast which is nice. Lobby has coffee in the morning, also a nice touch. When in that area again, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ConventionAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved staying at the Tamarack Beach Resort by the sea... We had a view of the ocean and it was wonderful walking on the beach . The Beach walk was great for walking or biking ..We loved being able to walk everywhere and loved trying out new restraunts...and the pool was nice also..
Very relaxing ! We are looking forward in our next stay there....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for posting such a great review! I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great time walking along the beautiful beaches in Carlsbad. We greatly look forward to seeing you again and assiting you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this resort for three days in late September and had an ocean front room with a balcony looking directly out at the ocean. The view was awesome and made up for some of the less atractive features of this hotel. The room(s), although clean, are in serious need of updating. I also had trouble using their wi-fi in my room and the continental breakfast was average at best. However, the location was perfect for walking to the beach and village of Carlsbad. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area to enjoy. For an ocean front room the price was not unreasonable and I would stay there again in the future. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your response as we welcome and appreciate any and all feedback as we strive to improve upon any and all areas we can based on guest feedback and our own research into how we can improve the guests experience at Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was quiet, clean and had a nice pool. It was directly across from the beach. I walked among the shops and had great fun window shopping. Lots of places to eat nearby. I wish I could have stayed longer. Next time I will.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Eugenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for the nice complimmets. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing and assisting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Most of the reviews I read mentioned "noisy" & "kid friendly." I'm not a fan of either. I called & spoke with Shelli, who was so friendly & understanding about my concerns, that I decided to take a chance. I'm happy I did. A few kids were there (i was there on a wednesday during school season) but I went to the beach & enjoyed the water. Location is perfec, staff is friendly & hotel was nice. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank april200011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarackBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your nice compliments. I am so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon! If we can be of any assitance to you please do not hesitate to let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
668 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: 3200 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $165 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel located in the Coastal Village of Carlsbad California, just steps to the beach on Historic Route 101 and walking distance to the Village. Tamarack Beach Resort is one of the only Resorts with non obstructed Ocean Views and Direct Access to the Beach. We offer accommodations with Hotel rooms, Condos (1 bedroom or 2 bedrooms) and a Panoramic Ocean View Meeting Room. We can accommodate just about any size family or length of stay. All Hotel rooms come with a Complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, Microwave, Small Refrigerator, In Room Wireless Internet, Secure Gated Parking combined with resort amenities such as a Heated Pool, 2 Hot Tubs, Gym, BBQ Area and Recreation Room. Our Condos have a fully equipped Kitchen, Stack-able Washer and Dryer and a Private Patio. When you stay at the Tamarack Beach Resort you are bound to experience "A Touch of Paradise" with our immaculate views, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Beach Resort By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Tamarack Beach Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing