We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Henderson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Outside is a little run down, the interior is nicer. We were missing a shower curtain but it was replaced quickly. the WiFi is useless. This was the consensus with our entire group of 25 people. I mentioned it to the staff and nothing was done.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    257
    140
    47
    35
See reviews for
363
79
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to LegoLand (6 mins or so by car). Had a nice pool and spa my kids enjoyed the night before. Offered a nice breakfast spread my wife and kids enjoyed as well. It was a good experience, fit our needs and price range and we'll likely stay there when we go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was such a great weekend. The rooms are really clean and we had the adjoining rooms which worked out great since they both had 2 queen beds in each room. I was surprised about the breakfast.... Eggs, sausage, cereal etc. I was only expecting toast and coffee. I can't wait to stay here again. FYI- it's walking distance to so many shops Nd restaurants. Sooo convenient.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Everything was excellen, it was clean, nice, it is near good and best attractions, and shops, It is clean, nice, very confortable, it quiet and you can rest and have a good shopping an vacations

It is great, I recommend it!!!!

It´s a great value!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes, there is a dutch style windmill on site! The hotel was much more than we expected. And the breakfast buffet was of much higher quality than the usual. Little omelets VERY good etc.....well done!
Would stay here again when in the area.
The price is so reasonable. The courtyard, pool, Gazebo....what's not to like?

Anything you need is within a few minutes drive.

If someone wants to stay in San Diego....why not book a place THERE???? we had a business conference here. We then went to the King of the Missions. And to Old Town San Diego. The Cosmopolitan has a wonderful menu and personal service. That is where we had our last evening's dinner. And always will.

Carlsbad -By- the- Sea is a very good bang for the buck!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have been staying at the Carlsbad by the Sea Resort for 4 years now. Every time we go to Legoland for a robotics or Jr Lego competition, this is the hotel for us. The cost is VERY reasonable for what you get. (But you do need to watch for the deals!)The rooms are nothing fancy however, they are comfortable and clean. Once we did have a room that smelled moldy and they immediately gave us a new room with a great view. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We have never had a bad experience with staff and service.
Their complimentary breakfast is fantastic. Lots of choices, eggs, sausage, cereals, coffee, juices, toast, bagels, yogurt, etc... news is always on with the sound very low. But you can read the ticker and your children don't need to hear the latest bad news.
There is a great pool but we always go there in the winter so we haven't utilized it.
The hotel is a very short walk to several restaurants including the Very fun RUBY's diner. This is in the "Carlsbad Premium Outlet" mall. There is also a Haagan Dazs Ice Cream and and Rubios Fresh Mex and more.
The hotel offers shuttle service to LEGOland but it is too far to walk to Legoland. Also... this is not a place to stay if you are trying to see the rest of San Diego because San Diego proper is 1 hour south. But for Legoland... fantastic. Look for the giant blue windmill off the 5 freeway in Carlsbad.

Room Tip: 1st floor inside rooms face the pool and have walk out access to pool. Upper floor access requires s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is a great location only if you are a family wanting to go to Legoland or a shopper wanting to check out the premium outlet mall. Because it is located a half hour from San Diego, the only way to get around is by the Coaster (train). The hotel offers a shuttle to catch the train station that is about 2 miles away. A taxi from the airport to the hotel goes for $100.00
Most of this info we found out on our own as the hotel staff seemed to be a little unaware of what is available to their guests. As for the hotel, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast provided was average but great coffee. NIce pool but the hot tub was under repair for the full week we were there. Lots of place to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that is not behind the shrubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing