We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doctor Appointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Brawley, California
1 review
“Doctor Appointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived Sunday afternoon for a doctor's appointment on Monday morning. The front desk personnel was very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. We walked across the street to the Outlets and had dinner @ Ruby's Diner walked a little afterwards because the stores close early on Sunday.

Room Tip: "Nice area and price"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pituris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    254
    139
    47
    35
See reviews for
358
79
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice comfortable hotel, with super soft beds and comfortable pillows. The pool is great, but... They can improve on breakfast ! I have had better breakfast at 2* motels than here! Cereal was mostly empty, milk tasted funny! Good luck getting the kitchen lady to smile or say hi! The shuttle to legoland was fast nd easy:) overall we enjoyed our stay but woud have liked a better healthy breakfast for the price we paid!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitingOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Room was very large, lots of space compared to a lot of hotels. My room had a patio, and it looks like all rooms have either a balcony or patio. Very quiet AC system, never heard it running. Location is amazing for shopping, right across the street from an outlet mall. Very close to LegoLand. Staff was really friendly! Great curtains that blocked out ALL of the light, no light leaking in around the edges.
I stayed for 5 days, 1 day my room did not get cleaned for some reason, but not a big deal.
Did find that the front desk phone gave me a busy signal quite a few times when I tried to call.
Fridge in my room was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Second Story floors have Balconys vs. lower floors having patio area that is open to common ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived here for one night on a business trip. The hotel rooms are spacious and you get a small selection of essentials in the bathroom.

The breakfast was OK but i'm not sure if the milk was off or not but it tasted really, really strange. I ended up having fruit and yogurt.

A short walk to the shops over the street from hotel made up for things a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
545 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent last Sunday night here, using air miles for a free hotel stay.

The staff was super nice. They allowed us to check in hours early and stored our luggage on check-out day. Every staff member that we encountered was friendly and helpful.

The room was decent. It looked recently remodeled and we had a prime spot on the lower level, as close to the pool as you can get. The internet seemed spotty at first, but we discovered that it works perfectly if you are sitting at the desk. The bed was comfy and overall I liked the decor in the room. We didn't use it, but I appreciated that the room had a microwave.

We used the pool/jacuzzi three times. Since it's winter and cold, we had it all to ourselves and it was fantastic. Nice, clean and a good size. I would love to come back when the weather is warmer.

It's located in a prime location for Carlsbad activities, just across the street from the outlets.

The breakfast buffet was okay. I wouldn't have paid for it, but it was nice that it was free. They had a few hot items, but we stuck with bagels and cereal. It's simple, but good.

Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, safe and comfortable. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's nice and would be good for families. We would stay here again and recommend it.

Please visit my blog for pictures of our trip and other travel reviews and musings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean, nice rooms, very good customer service. The complimentary breakfast is nice and free acess to fitness room very convenient. Mid week value can't be beat. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: East side - away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Legoland. Very nice hotel and staff is very friendly. We were the only ones on the shuttle to Legoland and the ride was quick! The driver picked us up from Legoland when we were ready to go back. Breakfast was also very nice. Lots to choose from for a continental breakfast. Hotel is located directly across the street from an outlet mall and many restaurants to include fast food as well. Short drive to the ocean to watch beautiful sunsets. Also, there is a computer and printer in the lobby that guests can use free of charge.

One complaint! We went to the hot tub and when I sat down I felt as if I was being poked by a bunch of little needles. I stood up and tried to sit again, but the same thing happened. We decided to leave. At first I thought it was the chemicals. I tried to wash everything off, but it didn't help. I soon came to realize that the poking was from fiberglass! Ouch! Luckily the front desk staff had shipping tape that I used to pull all of the fiberglass from my skin and it worked! I told them about it, but not sure if anything was done. The staff kept insisting that it was the chemicals, but I know it wasn't and had to have been fiberglass. Hopefully they fix this problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ewa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing