We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not a resort but more of a motel. Got a good rate through priceline paid 79 a night. Booked 2 rooms. Room 145- It is clean but a couple of the towels had stained. Its a ADA room so we had plenty of space for a family of 4. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room which is nice when traveling with little children. Room 149 clean but it smelled like a smoking rm. Called the front desk and they informed me that the rm is non smoking but the room above us is not. That was where the smell was coming from. Don't know why the hotel doesn't make the whole section of the building non smoking.

Great for family with children going to Legoland.

Basic breakfast, cereal, bagels, toast, suasage, egg, juice and coffee. Its free can't complain.
Small pool and not enough towels at the pool area.

Front desk lady ( Lisa) was nice and polite. Overall, nice motel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeeluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 679 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had at the "Resort" for 3 days during a business trip. Room was rather large and quite comfortable despite some wear and tear. The whole resort seemed to need some improvement. Managed to sleep well despite the jet-lag. However, the aircon battled a bit as it was rather cold in Southern California during the time and even rained a bit. The pool area was not well kept with leaves floating in the pool and the hot tub. But with just below 20 degC, they were probably not expecting anybody to use it.

I had expected a bit more from a "Resort". The whole place is located at an intersection with heavy traffic and actually quite far away from the sea. That being said, you do not walk anywhere from there except to the shopping mall across the road. There you have a wide variety of outlet shops and several ok restaurants.

The breakfast buffet was definitely sub-standard: lots of platic-wrapped stuff with long expiration dates, awful cheese, hardly any fresh food, and you ate off paper plates with plastic cutlery. Give this a miss and rather help yourself to a better breakfast across the road.

The staff was friendly with quick check-in and -out. Even at a discount rate, it was not exactly a bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudeDudeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went into this hotel quite blind. Wasn't the location we wanted. Little did we know that this is the place to stay for families with small children who are visiting Lego Land. It's across the street from a mall and near the ocean, but you need to drive. There's a big windmill and from the outside you are not impressed. You are also not impressed with the lobby. However, our room overlooking the courtyard/pools was quite lovely. (Be sure to request a room facing the courtyard.)Children were everywhere. Breakfast was a trip trying to maneuver around the little people to get our food. Breakfast was a full breakfast and children were well behaved. All rooms had a balcony which was lovely. They allowed smoking on the balconies, which for us was good (my sister smokes), but maybe not for others. Since our goal was to meet up with family and enjoy our time together, this worked great. Main thing is that the rooms were well appointed, clean, quiet,and comfortable. Considering what part of the country we were in, the cost was probably good, but quite high by our standards.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the courtyard. Folks who didn't have that were unhappy. Very unat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our first night at the hotel something went wrong with our reservation, so we were upgraded to the family suite. We had been on the road for 18 hours and the front desk lady was one of the rudest people I had to deal with, we made a drive from Texas to California so there were other hotels. She was just absolutely nasty and rude, also complained about her job and her customers....I just wanted to get to the room and rest. The rooms are defiantly better than the outside of the hotel. The family suite was nice but there was sand on one of the beds. Since our reservation was messed up, we had to pack and check out the next morning, couldn't check back in until 4pm, which was okay because we spent the day at Legoland which is 2 miles away. The lady at checkout was very sweet, thank goodness we didn't have the witch from the day before or I would have left the hotel. The breakfast was free and very good- sausage, omlets, cereals, yogurt, all kinds of breads, fruit and drinks.
The pool looked really nice, but we never used it. There is also a free shuttle to Legoland we didn't use, it would have saved us 20 in parking! When we checked back in the room was very nice and clean. I love that Fridays does the room service, we had great dinner a few nights. There are also outlets across the street and the beach is exactly 2 miles- so the location is great. I would stay here again- hopefully someone sets the witch at the front desk straight, because bad customer service really makes or breaks your business.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassidy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife booked this hotel after looking at just the website. She was pretty taken back by the Old English styling of the resort when we got there. For what we paid for the room I was expecting more of an updated look to the resort but it was kind of scary. That being said, the actual hotel rooms (that are more motel style, meaning you enter from the outside) are remodeled and are in great shape. You can tell that it's an older resort but the room had a small fridge and microwave, which you won't get in a high end hotel anymore. If you're going to Legoland they offer you a free breakfast (which wasn't bad) and a free shuttle which will save you $12 per day in parking. The breakfast buffet was omelets, sausage, english muffins, bagels, and assorted cereals. It was more than enough to get us through Legoland. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance, including a TGI Friday's onsite and a PF Chang's about a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the "Indio" building, it's right by the pool and it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Diddy1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

nice rooms, showers have low water pressure we had to ask 3 times for towels by the pool and yet never came. I would say 3.5 star hotel. Great location across from outlets. free parking. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amstyletattoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Yes! The buildings looked old and the noise of the freeway was there, but NOT in Room #139 unless we opened the bathroom window. We saw business people in suits, families with children and old couples staying, but we didn't see nor hear anyone complaining while we were there. The breakfast was great coming from packaged cinnamon rolls and muffins hotels. We enjoyed the Denver and cheese omelets made from scratch and the sausage was my son's favorite. Yes! The pool was filled with kids, but what can you expect when they're out of school so I wouldn't blame the hotel for that. Carlsbad by the Sea Resort may not be a five star hotel, but it provided us a safe place to rest, clean up and enjoy our short vacation to Legoland. The staff and shuttle drivers were friendly and accommodating to our needs.
P.S. The only issue we had during our stay was that the hotel was having wireless Internet problems for the past couple of days, but that was not an issue for me because it kept my kids offline. LOL!






Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $112 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing