We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,482 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This was an old Split Pea Anderson's, but was sold to Holiday Inn, It still has the old Danish windmill that all Anderson's have. Today the Split Pea restaurant is a TGIF - disppointing!
The hotel is massive with lots of grounds and a large circular parking lot. It's a little hard to find your way around and easy to get lost!
When we checked in the front desk could not have been more helpful. We were driving home from La Jolla and were justing spending one night. My daughter and I wanted to see a movie and the front desk could not be more helpful. She got the paper, made copies for us and gave us good directions. She took a lot of time with us and showed that she really cared that we had a good night.
The room was average. We had a nice garden view. It's just off the main highway and is a little busy.
The hotel seems a bit odd with the old windmill and the crazy grounds that seem more like a maze. However I will always remember the kind staff and the great attitude of the woman at the front desk.

  • Liked — The Amazing Staff
  • Disliked — Busy location, large parking lot, I miss the old Pea Soup Anderson's which is now a TGIF
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    264
    149
    51
    39
See reviews for
380
81
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

We stayed at this hotel November 24, 2007 on our annual Legoland/Disneyland trip. The women at the front desk were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable- lots of pillows!! They even offer a shuttle/van to Legoland that will take you when you want and will pick you up when you want. The hotel is directly across the street from a great outlet mall with a Starbucks for morning coffee. I would definetely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We booked this through the Legoland website as a package deal.

We stayed last Friday night, October 19th and a terrible accident happened to one of my two year olds. A very large and heavy full-length mirror fell off the wall onto both of her feet. There was lots of blood and bruising and fear that both feet could be broken. Also, none of the phones in the hotel room worked so we were unable to call the front desk to ask for directions to the nearest hospital or urgent care. My husband had to call from his cel phone. Meanwhile, I drove around the property to the front desk to get the directions. The front desk woman was very nice about it and did say she would be making a report. I then drove to the hospital and spent the next four hours in the Emergency Room. The mirror had not been mounted to the wall at all. It was hanging only on a small piece of wood with a lip over it. My two year old was looking at herself in the mirror and touched the mirror and it fell. Following x-rays of both her feet and a dressing on her blackened/purple toes and feet we returned to the hotel at 1am. The hotel personnel apologized, comped our room, and provided us with coupons for breakfast at Ruby's Diner the following morning so breakfast was only $4 and change. Unfortunately, we didn't get to Legoland until 12pm because we needed to find more pain medication for my daughter and get soft sandals for her to wear as her feet are too swollen to fit into shoes. It was a horrible experience to think of what could have happened. I only hope that everyone checks all mirrors and artwork hanging in hotels in the future.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank bugspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Glendale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The whole service with a smile applies to this hotel. When I checked in, the receptionist (didn't catch her name) was very friendly and outgoing. I was immediately comfortable in the lobby. Our room was a king bed on first floor (room 153). It was clean and spacious which is what we required with a toddler in tow. Although the hotel buildings seemed a little old, they kept the landscaping and rooms looking as fresh as possible.
We also received coupons for TGIFridays. One was for a free meal for our toddler and the other was for one free breakfast meal for only one of us. We did not go there though. We opted to go to Carlsbad Village and eat dinner and breakfast by the beach. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Liked — The smiles when I got there
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmillankris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

From the outside, this hotel looked more like a motel - small reception area, two floors of rooms spread out, no elevator (I think), and entrance to each room from the outside common walkway. BUT more positives - our room (166) was very clean, spacious, vanity sink outside of toilet/tub & shower room, small microwave, and small refrigerator. Our ground floor room had a sliding door that led out to the pool and gazebo area. Our patio area had a small table and two chairs.

The location of this hotel was great. Lots of restaurant options, especially King's Fishhouse next door (fantastic seafood & etc. and we ate there 3 times). Only 10 minutes drive to Legoland. Directly across from the outlet stores and this mall had some dining options as well. Very easy access to the Freeway I-5. TGIF on site of the hotel (serves breakfast, lunch & dinner).

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. We received coupons for our kids to eat for FREE at TGIF (any meal). We also received coupons (special booking) for free breakfast for the adults too. They provide free shuttle (in a minivan) to and from Legoland for hotel guest.

Only real negative - the walls of the room were a little thin and you can hear next room's TV and upstairs hotel guest walking (or the kid jumping)!

Overall, we were quite satisfied with our stay and would not mind staying at this location.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2007

I guess you pay for location. For the price I expected somewhat better but it is very centraly located in Carlsbad CA. Near the beach and LegoLand. Kids ate free (with vouchers) at the TGI Fridays adjacent to the hotel which was nice. TGI Fridays happy hour was 5-7 so we enjoyed cheap drinks and free kids meals after a long day at LegoLand which was great. Hotel needs some maintenance. Many of the gate security locks were broken, some were removed entirely. Pool was nice temperature and hot tub was toasty. If you visit in April to May you will get to see the awsome flower gardens right next to the Hotel. The entire hillside was covered with various colored flowers. Seems like you will pay at least $150/night for something halfway decent in Carlsbad.

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — Needs some maintenance
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank acmjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

I had to do business in Carlsbad or we would not have chosen it. It was an older Holiday Inn with a good location and nice pool. The TGI Friday's was good and close to the rooms. The hotel needs updating but for the price and the area, it was pretty good. The pool was nice and not crowded. There is a nice outlet mall right across the street. Other than that, I would not stay in Carlsbad again if I had a choice, there is nothing there. But our stay and the service was good.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronvot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad by the Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad by the Sea Resort

Property: Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Address: 850 Palomar Airport Road, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4443 (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlsbad by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad by the Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your best vacation - a vacation in Carlsbad California is like no other in the world. And choosing Carlsbad by the Sea Resort guarantees the perfect location for a fun-filled experience for the whole family. LEGOLAND(R) California Resort is located just a mile away and Carlsbad by the Sea Resort is a designated LEGOLAND "Preferred Hotel." We offer special packages that include hotel rooms, tickets to the theme park, and a shuttle ride to the entrance after you enjoy a full American breakfast. Carlsbad by the Sea is centrally located to everything the San Diego region has to offer. You are only 30 miles from the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park and SeaWorld. Pristine Carlsbad beaches or a game of golf are just minutes away. Spend time relaxing at the resort, walking on 22 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and playing and exercising in our year-round outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center. And when it is time to dine, More than a dozen popular restaurant choices are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad by the Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing