We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great jumping off point to Legoland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great jumping off point to Legoland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was only 2.6 miles (1 highway exit)/5 min from LEGOLAND. That was perfect for us. We had the king suite so had plenty of room for my husband, me, and our almost 3 year old. The room was clean including the carpet. My daughter's feet never turned black! I point that out because these days it is noteworthy. Many hotels we've stayed in look good but turn our feet black.

We enjoyed the breakfast. Not the best but better than some. It was what we expected. They serve fruit, waffles, toast, boiled eggs, cold cereals and pastries.

The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 was some minor maintenance issues. When we arrived, the toilet kept cycling every 30-60 seconds. Although they came and fixed it right away, I would have hoped that their housekeeping staff would have noticed and had it fixed before we arrived. That's just an attention to detail thing. As I said, they were very responsive once we pointed it out.

If we ever return to LEGOLAND we would look at staying here again. I would recommend you check it out too.

Green Features: I actually meant to share this with the management before we left and then forgot. They have signs in the rooms saying that if you want to reuse your towels to leave them hanging up. We did that and yet they still changed them out every day.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We sincerley thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing your wonderful feed back and your acknowledgment with our well maintained property and appreciation for the breakfast served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    117
    48
    15
    3
See reviews for
223
57
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a clean, well maintained hotel that is very affordable. The room was spacious and included a refrigerator and a microwave. Looked like everything in the room had been updated recently. Continental breakfast was included and they had plenty of everything. Location is just east of the 5 freeway. Easy to find and easy to get back on the freeway. Just a few minutes drive from Carlsbad and Legoland. About 1/2 hour from San Diego.

Minor problems included: a non-hdtv tv (lousy pictures). The window air conditioner was noisy.
Major problem: could not get wifi to work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berniek1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We sincerley thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your wonderful feed back and your acknowledgment with, Our well maintained property and apperciation for the breakfast served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we stayed at carlsbad econo lodge may 27 2014 for one night.stayed cause of the great reviews and price.wow what a great hotel !! first driving in right away noticed how someone been taking good care of.landscaping beautiful and immaculate.we go to the desk with our reservations and she tells us she is upgrading us to a suite at same price.told her thanks.went to our room and it was like brand new.i'm a retired hotel engineer of some 25 yrs. I can pick apart a room with all it's faults in a minute.I could not find one thing wrong.same thing our room was immaculate.georgous room.better than almost all holiday inn and best western's.hotel right off the freeway making it east to get back and forth.breakfast included.nice area to eat and pretty good breakfast.you can really tell they have pride in their hotel and really take care of it.I made sure I told them so.this econo lodge should be a quality inn it's best econo lodge we ever stayed in.both me and my wife would highly recommend this hotel and when we ever go back will stay there.

Room Tip: we had suite next to breakfast area.a really good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We sincerley thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing your wonderful feed back and your acknowledgment with , Our well maintained property and appreciation for the breakfast served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
303 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night and can say is a very good alternative. The room I got was clean, and was very big. The only thing I found that wasn't good enough was the breakfast. is too basic Lots of carbs.

Room Tip: If they give you a choice, choose a room away from the road; otherwise, you could be hearing all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiance with others . We are glad that you found our loction to be convenient to however i want to apologize for the breakfast .It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have stayed here many times in the last few years. The rooms are very large and very clean. The owners are wonderful people....very kind and accommodating. Very reasonable for the area and highly recommended. Thank you once again Malu!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in rooms by the road, rooms by the pool, upstairs, downstairs, and never had a comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KruiseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We sincerley thank you for choosing to stay with us ,and sharing your experiance with others. Thank you were much and see you agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

very kind and helpful. kept room clean and maid service good. need to have more selection for breakfast. good location. a lot of information on local area was very helpful. keep up the good work. parking area was good. pool good and clean.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We sincerley thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your wonderful feed back and your acknowledgment with , our well maintained property and appreciation for the breakfast served . we are glad that you found our loction to be convenient to however i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here four nights and loved it. The hotel is well positioned and the owners are a lovely couple waiting to help you out with anything you need. Rooms are super clean as the motel went through renovations 4 years back. Great place to stay for budget travellers.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your feedback. Our goal is to provide quality services like no other hotels can offer and we always make sure that our customers get the services more than what they pay for.We were privileged to serve you during your stay and are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Address: 3666 Pio Pico Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing