We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very clean & affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Very clean & affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great continental breakfast with hot & cold items. Location is 10 min. from beach. Downtown Carlsbad has some great shopping & restaurants. The staff is very friendly especially Malv & Jay who helped whenever needed.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaNLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    117
    47
    15
    3
See reviews for
222
56
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you need a hotel in the area, this is it. Ditto on the other good reviews. Great breakfast, good maintenance, fairly attentive staff, etc. If you stay here it's "0" to reach the front desk and not the button that's labeled "front desk". Other than that, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senseisensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a suite - king bed, sofa bed, and added a rollaway bed as well, so two adults and two kids could sleep comfortably. The room was not large, but it had a refrigerator and microwave, comfy beds, and everything was clean and well-maintained. I thought the free breakfast was above average - make your own waffles, boiled eggs, pastries, bread, cereal, milk, juice, coffee. The location is near a grocery store and drugstore, near the beach, just off I-5 - we really liked this hotel. It's not fancy, but for a family of 4 on a budget, it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3paresh, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was clean and spacious, breakfast was adequate and staff was pleasant. I would reccommend to anyone. Very close to a grocery store, gas station, expressway and the ocean (just a few blocks straight out.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As soon as i arrived i was impressed with the maintenance of the property. I was not impressed with the structure but just the way they maintained it. The building structure still looks like a motel 6 from outside. The paint is new and building is updated and kept nice and clean. The room "interiors" are excellent and match upscale hotels.hotel has all the "basic" amenities.If i were to compare it to budget hotels ..like motel6, super8, dayinn ..etc, this motel ranks high. There is no way you can compare it to hotels like holiday inn, ramada...etc since the hotel built is quite different. if i do that, the ranking of this hotel would fall sharply. Given that the price of the hotel is at the higher end , i am not convinced that the hotel is a "value". I would rather pay 10 to 20 dollars more and get into the higher end hotels with better buildings rather than settle for a two story hotel with rooms facing into the parking lot and a railing.
I came during the very busy long weekend. The breakfast room is a 100 to 150 sq room which is very small to serve breakfast for a 40 rooms hotel. people were bumping into each other during breakfast time. 10 people can barely sit in the room and 6 people can sit outside.

The toilet in my room got clogged during my stay.I told the hotel manager about it. He replied back saying that i need a plunger.He gave me a plunger and asked me to unclog the toilet myself. This toilet problem has happened for the first time during my hotel stay anywhere so i don't know if its standard procedure to unclog the toilet by yourself. maybe other veteran travelers can comment.
overall, i would recommend the hotel only if you get this at a price which matches similar budget hotels ( like motels6, days inn..etc).if the price is higher, i would pass this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyogi_santa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our stay coincided with a visit to Legoland. For our purposes the Econo Lodge was perfect.

For the price the accomodations were more than we could have expected and the staff (especially Jay) was helpful and proactive in providing us with a nice experience.

The breakfast layout was easy to negotiate and there was ample food and seating.

There was also conveniently located cafes and dining establishments and Legoland is less than 5 minutes away.

Overall a fine experience.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Best Econo Lodge that I ever visited on my life. I was on Oct. 27 weekend and rooms are clean, modern, safe big and with an excellent staff. Bed was awesome and check in and out was very quickly. Definitelly best option near Legoland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafa_Viajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Address: 3666 Pio Pico Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing