We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cancun, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed over the course of a week while visiting family in the area. Every room we stayed in was clean, neat, comfortable, and the beds were pillow top soft. Very accomidating to our needs, Hannah(the front desk) and Kumar(front desk) all were very wonderful during each stay. Always helpful, smiling, and check-in was never a hassle. Cleaner than any hotel in the entire city, over the years we've stayed at the Rodeway, Best Western, and a few off brand near the beach, NONE of them compare to the comfort, cleanliness, or price that this hotel offers. We've stayed at several hotels on the 101 highway & every one of them have run down rooms, overpriced, and little or no parking. At Econo Lodge every room is modern and tastefully decorated, showers all have grab bars, rooms have microwave & fridge, with plenty of leg room, on site laundry room, clean swimming pool, free onsite parking, clean and well kept property overall, with a free continental breakfast, and it's located just off the interstate which makes it easy access, you'll be close to the beach(without paying high prices) within 2 miles straight down Carlsbad Village Drive where you can find plenty of great places to eat & shop; all just down the street from this wonderful hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!! Stay at a different hotel then come stay at this one and you'll understand why we don't waste our time or money staying anyplace else when we come to visit family in Carlsbad.

The only down side would be if you arrive late and get placed in a room closer to the interstate, I-5 is extremely busy and noisy, so yes you will have to deal with interstate noise just like all the hotels along a normal busy highway so keep that in mind, rooms closer to the middle of the property or back area are a little quieter. If you want total quiet, then don't stay in a hotel that is near the interstate. Common sense should tell you this and to all ready know this before you book the room or stay at any hotel right next to one of California's busies interstates! It is not noise free, you will have interstate noise: ALL hotels along the interstate have this problem, deal with it or stay someplace else away from the interstate if you are a winer, you know the type to complain because the interstate noise was too loud, boo-hoo, well what did you expect the hotel is right next to I-5, duh!
Turn the AC/Heater unit on low fan, it'll drown out most of the interstate noise.
This hotel is immaculate compared to everything else in the entire town, it has great service, ammenities, great location, and value that can't be beat.

Room Tip: Book your room online and request a downstairs room near the swimming pool, this will give you a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CancunVIP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    126
    51
    18
    4
See reviews for
234
64
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've seen in the Southwest. Stayed at many hotels in California and they are pretty bad. This one was clean. The staff was great. Breakfast was great. They maintained the food and there was someone there and available all the time. There was a small business area with computer and printer. I have no complaints. I was definitely impressed and would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyrenee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I am always worried when I book an Econo lodge as it is the "lowest" level of Choice Hotels offerings but I trusted past reviews and it paid off.
Now like others say it is right next to the highway, and there is NO sound barrier, so there is the constant noise of the highway, especaially when you are outside. It is there but not as bad when you are in the rooms.
The Room: they were a good size, and clean other than the carpet. there was no coffee maker but that was often avail in the lobby. The sink is part of the room, so getting washed after the kids went to bed was a little tricky, but the counter space around the sink was important to me. The one thing that drove me crazy is that more than once I had to go to reception to ask for towels and/or cups for the 4 people in the room (we were there for 7 days, so they knew how many people were in the room)
Breakfast: Much better than I expected, they had fruit and a waffle maker(my kids were in heaven), fresh cooked hard boiled eggs (Not the kind you get in a bucket). My only complain is there was only Jam for the toast, so we went out to buy our own peanut butter.

The pool is small but there were never many people in it, so most of the time we had it to ourselves. There are tables and chairs around the pool so if you want to have your own dinner that was possible (we did that 3 times)

The locaiton is excellent, 5-10 min to Legoland, 5 min to the beach, 35 min to the airport, right on the highway when we left to go north.

This location is family run and they really seem to care about their reputation (especially on Trip Advisor).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Exactly what I was hoping for: a clean, reasonably price hotel near to area activities. Wives took the kids to Legoland, dads went surfing at Tamarack State Beach, and in the evening dinner in nearby downtown Carlsbad (5 min drive). Even the drive for a visit to Stone Brewery was not to bad (20min). The free continental breakfast was perfect to get us families out and about quickly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrg222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Rooms were spacious and clean, everything seemed new and in good condition. The complimentary breakfast was convenient. Great location- only a couple miles from beach and Village of Carlsbad which has shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My family and I stayed two days here and were very impressed with how clean and well maintained the property and room were. When checking in, I had the pleasure of speaking with Hanna who was very informative and accommodating. Our room was huge and everything was spotless. We enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, which was served in a very clean area restocked when needed. We were so close to Legoland and other great activities. We definitely will stay here again and will recommend it highly to our friends and family

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domisteph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights. I've stayed in a lot of hotels near Legoland since we have annual passes and it's just too far to travel for the day. We were going to arrive late Sat. night and just wanted a place to sleep. the reviews were good for this place and I must say it's true that it's great for the money. We got a room for about $75/night and the beds were very comfortable. It's close to Legoland, it has a sparse continental breakfast, small pool, mini fridge, and microwave in the room. Overall, I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeks2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.7 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland
Address: 3666 Pio Pico Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Near Legoland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing