We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyland Inn Near Legoland
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed at Rodeway Inn for trips to the beach and Legoland. Older motor court with no frills. Rooms were good for sleeping, with a small pool and great location to area attractions. 10 minutes to Legoland, 5 to Beach. Great Pie restaurant up the street. If you're looking to save some money on lodging for Legoland you could do much worse.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank Falcon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2009

This was a very basic hotel room along the highway. While staying there on business, my Kindle e-reader was stolen out of the room. The management had surveillance cameras that showed their cleaning staff going into my room while I was gone. Rather than find the Kindle or reimburse me, they refused to believe me and would not compensate me for my stolen property. I would not recommend staying at this hotel under any circumstances -- unless you like dishonest hotel managers.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
3  Thank markglaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyland727, Owner at Hyland Inn Near Legoland, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

We asked the guest to file a police report for his lost property but he refused to do so at the time. He sent me threatening emails saying if I did not pay him the money he would post negative reviews. As you can see he joined trip advisor only to post this one review. Our surveillance tapes show nothing out of the ordinary and we even offered them to him as proof for his police report, which he never filed. Our staff is very honest and we have been in business here for years. We tried our best to help this guest but he was just out to make a quick buck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

This motel was more than adequate for the price we paid. Had good wii-fii connection, fridge and shower had great water pressure. The breakfast had muffins,danish, mini cinnamon buns, couple kinds of cereal. It was fine.
It was right off the freeway, as were many we saw in the area, so quite noisy at night. My earplugs blocked it fine.
Took us 10min to Legoland and outlet shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepsipeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Good central location, close to freeway and Legoland (although I didn't have time to visit). Easy parking, free wi-fi w/no problems. Clean as a whistle; maids were friendly and punctual. GREAT service. The gas lift on the desk chair in my room was not holding (it would drift downward while I sat), and the front desk took care it of immediately. I also needed a fork for a take-out meal about midnight, and the desk clerk was kind enough to not only give me a fork, but also a plate and napkins and let me borrow some scissors. The single room was small (one queen bed) but clean and comfortable. There is noise from the freeway, but it didn't keep me awake. Could hear a little noise from the adjacent room, but again, not enough to be bothersome. Wish they would have the cards to skip having sheets washed for multi-night stays. Great price, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UT_Budget_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn to go and visit Legoland. Legoland was an easy 10-15 minute drive away. The Rodeway Inn was near gas stations, restuarants and groceries stores so you can easily replenish any supplies you need.
We were given a bottom floor room which was great as we could easily unload luggage from our vehicle and carry it directly into our room. Our room had a microwave and a refrigerator, which are great featuers in my opinion. The room looks like it has been remodeled recently as everything looked very modern, clean and new! The beds were nice and firm, very comfortable to sleep in. They also give you plenty of nice pillows.
There was one gripe I had about the Rodeway Inn, its located nearby the freeway and if your a light sleeper, you'll be able to hear road noise and disturb your sleep.
In the morning, they provide coffee, juice, cereal and danishes. It would have been great if they could also provide toast and maybe a little fruit? The danish and coffee did hold us up until we could get some lunch though.
Overall, my family liked the Rodeway Inn and would not hesistate recommending it to others! Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joel1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Beautiful Interior!!!!!
Clean, Comfortable and a great value.
Bathroom and shower very clean
Bed was Comfortable
free WiFi access
close to everythng !!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mencjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loveistheanswerpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 37 in Carlsbad
371 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 37 in Carlsbad
1,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#23 of 37 in Carlsbad
170 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyland Inn Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyland Inn Near Legoland

Address: 3570 Pio Pico Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2553 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Near Legoland)
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $57 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hyland Inn Near Legoland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the smoke-free Hyland Inn near LEGOLAND hotel in Carlsbad, CA near Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad State Beach and LEGOLAND California theme park. You can explore the Museum of Making Music and such nearby points of interest as: The Flower Fields Tamarack Beach Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park Batiquitos Lagoon Craftsmanship Museum Our convenient location near McClellan-Palomar Airport and LEGOLAND makes this hotel in Carlsbad your ideal lodging destination when you are on a budget. Business travelers appreciate access to copy and fax services. As our valued guest, you can enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool and such amenities as: Free WiFi, Free coffee, Free Parking and Laundry facilities We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a 40-inch LCD TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. Some rooms also feature a whirlpool. This property is a 14-minute walk from the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyland Inn Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Rodeway Inn Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing