We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away from the Rodeway Inn near Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay Away from the Rodeway Inn near Carlsbad”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I just stayed here for 2 nights and my stay was not pleasant. I requested a non-smoking room and it stinks. There were cockroaches and spider cobwebs on the walls. Yuck! I found a spider on my bed. This place is nasty. I will never stay at the Rodeway Inn near Legoland ever again. That is the truth.

Room Tip: Please do not stay at the Rodeway Inn near Legoland. Please trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyland727, Manager at Rodeway Inn Near Legoland, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We do not agree with the opinions of this guest. We are AAA approved and inspected by various agencies to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms. We have never had a problem with insects of any kind and we take great care in our non-smoking rooms to make sure they are not smoked in. This guest is not a regular contributor on Trip Advisor and therefore the comment should be removed.

Thank you,

Rodeway Inn near Legoland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    21
    14
    20
See reviews for
52
25
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a great hotel with great staff. Joyce and Robin treated us so well that we will definitely come back everytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiffanyBizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks and was very pleased.
Pros-
*clean
*free wifi
*free parking
*good location
*cost
*laundry room
*decent sized room
*mini fridge and microwave
Cons-
*sheets not changed until asked

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nerual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

my husbands friend picked this place out and i was worried as i never heard of it before and it was a very good price for the area. I was very happy with the outcome. the grounds where clean but they could have used ashtrays by the stairs for easy clean up for smokers. Rooms where clean smelled good and had a remodeled look to them with new flat screen tv nice fridge and microwave. bathroom was a little small but worked just fine. we did notice the toliet did not flush so we just fix the chain in the handle and it worked fine took 2 seconds to fix. we stayed upstairs so while walking up the stairs i did notice that the last step was a little crooked fine for me but my 4 year old fell the first time she went up it. it was quiet all night long no problems with loud people.I would stay again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: we had no problems but i would pick a room on the first floor with kids and skip the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tascher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were visiting relatives in Carlsband and needed an inexpensive motel. Checked this out on Tripadvisor. This is a decent clean room with nice fluffy beds for a great price. It is nice and close to the beach, old town Carlsbad (wonderful) and Legoland. Will stay here again this summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamonddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Drove down to San Diego for a quick getaway, while looking for a cheap hot this one came up. The only issue I had was that the toilet didn't work, aside from that it was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweak0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Rodeway, not one of my first choices, but upon arrival We were pleasantly surprised. Although next to freeway, the area was very nice, with a large park near by, close to all shopping, downtown, and the beach. Also central to surrounding cities, San Diego, Encinitas, etc.
The whole place has been renovated, with some outside work still going on at the driveway entry, but was not bothersome. Very nice personnel, (Peyl, I think was her name at check in)
we asked for and recieve 2 extra pillows for our queen size bed. The room was clean, new paint, large flat wall mounted TV, was able to hook up DVD player (something I think all hotels will get to eventually), small fridge with a mcrowave. Nice size bath/sink counter for all toiletries. Good parking. Some flaws, skip morning continental breakfast, only have store bought pastries, Orange juice too acidic (apple juice better choice, coffee ok), Nothing else.
Toilet worked too good! Think it has a 4 cylinder motor. Bed was ok, my mate slept well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boone5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.8 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.6 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
653 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

Property: Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Address: 3570 Pio Pico Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near Legoland 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the smoke-free Rodeway Inn(R) near LEGOLAND hotel in Carlsbad, CA near Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad State Beach and LEGOLAND California theme park. You can explore the Museum of Making Music and such nearby points of interest as: The Flower Fields Tamarack Beach Leo Carrillo Ranch Historic Park Batiquitos Lagoon Craftsmanship Museum Our convenient location near McClellan-Palomar Airport and LEGOLAND makes this hotel in Carlsbad your ideal lodging destination when you are on a budget. Business travelers appreciate access to copy and fax services. As our valued guest, you can enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool and such amenities as: Free WiFi Free coffee Laundry facilities We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a 40-inch LCD TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. Some rooms also feature a whirlpool. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service, wonderful amenities and affordable rates at the Rodeway Inn near LEGOLAND hotel in Carlsbad, CA. We offer a solid deal on a simple stay so you can get the rest you need. Book now - we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland Hotel Carlsbad
Rodeway Inn Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing