We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$299
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Beach Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$184
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$325
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveler rating
986
254
96
38
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
254
96
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancethe mexican restaurantacross the streetadult jacuzzibeach chairsboogie boardsbedroom condohot tubdaily newssan diegothe coasterdaily activitiestime shareunderground parkingocean viewrestaurants and shopssouthern california
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Our family stayed at the Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort for 4 days and 3 nights. It was "home" for our 2 days at Legoland.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The beach is just across a short residental street.
The hotel is right near the Carlsbad Village with many shops and places to eat.
The kids enjoyed the pool. There is a hot tub near the pool but it's kid friendly--no jets. There is a adult only hot tub near the fence going to the beach.
We enjoyed eating at the Harbor Fish Cafe--casual dining with a view of the ocean.
It was nice being so close to the ocean--seeing the sunset,kids playing in the surf and sand,and seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean.
We can't wait to come back--"relaxation".

AZCATraveller9999

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZCATraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We stayed in this resort April 28th-May 5th of 2007. We had a great time! We got this room through our RCI timeshare so we actually had a 1 bedroom suite, with a separate bedroom and fully stocked kitchen. We stayed here with our 3 year-old son.
The location is great, centrally located to all southern California attractions! 45 mins to Disneyland, 40 mins to SD Wild Animal Park, and only 5 mins to Legoland!
Ok, to all parents, Legoland is a must for little ones! I would almost suggest Legoland over Disneyland for those under 6. There are a lot mor rides for them to to on, and when you simply want to sit and rest, they have lots of areas for them to just run and play while you sit and watch.
Anyway, the resort is great. We loved being so close to the beach. I would say we were just a block away. We could certainly see the ocean from our 3rd floor room. The hotel is located on a busy road so be prepared for some road noise, but nothing you can't drown out by closing the window. We didn't deal with the staff much, but when we needed something in our room, they got it to us within minutes! The concierge was helpful and friendly. We went on the timeshare tour so we could get free Disneyland tickets, and it was time well spent. We didn't purchase, but there was absolutely no pressure either. We simply said no, and they said ok, bye. They even have gas BBQ grills in which they provide all the utensils, like tongs and such. I feel like they try their best to make your stay like home. I highly reccommmend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bioniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Our stay was over 4 days in early April. This is a great place for families to stay in the Carlsbad/Oceanside area, our kids (11 & 8) were entertained the entire stay. Parking was a snap, even from the underground parking to the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, once beyond the front desk.

The rooms are a bit outdated, with some minor problems (no working fan in the bathroom, and a noisy ceiling fan over the bed). Our intention wasn't to hang in the room, though, so this wasn't worth reporting at the time.

The only problem was a sewage spill to the north, which wasn't the Inn's fault; it just meant the beach was closed. Bummer.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chances04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We spent a week at the Carlsbad from Dec.31st. on an exchange from RCI.
After reading reviews you sometimes do not know what to expect.
We were very surprised & happy. It is a quaint town and a very nice inn. The hotel is kept very clean and well maintained.
Our room on the 3rd floor in the Elm wing was very clean. Our towels were exchanged 2X and a cleanup was done in midweek.
The pool was clean but were not brave to go in as the temperatures outdoor were not as warm as would have liked.
The staff is super friendly-desk, concierge,tour guides etc. Everyone was eager to help in any way to make your stay enjoyable & hassle free. We enjoyed the information session. At first we thought, it would be a timeshare invitation but it really was an information session about the hotel & area. They organized activities throughout the week e,g, crafts, kaoroke, wine tasting etc. We took the Los Angeles trip & enjoyed it_Thank you Terry!
Great restaurant across the road Fresco Trattoria & Bar. Very good Italian food. I know a lot people enjoy Fidel's. We didn't. We like the fajitas & quesidillas made at Kelsey's or Casey's. The tortillas we ate seemed greasy. We had also tried Caldo Pomodoro but it is not authentic Italian. Their sauce was a very American sauce. (Sorry being Italian-you could taste & see the difference. We were told to go to Chin's Chinese restaurant on Madison's. Again, it was very good Chinese food & very good service.
Carlsbad & Carlsbad Inn made our vacation very enjoyable. I would go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank cheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

My husband won a two night stay at Carlsbad Inn, so we weren't expecting much. Just wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle and relax near the beach. Well, we were pleasantly surprised by the personality of this place. The service was friendly and the place was very close to the beach.

Transportation: 3 miles away from the train station (about 10$ cab ride- so convenient!)

Rooms: Had a mini kitchen in our room, which proved to be very useful. Had utensils, refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, etc. We got food from the nearby restaurants and ate it in our room.

Activities in hotel: They have a small fitness room, a game room with arcade games and a pool table, bicycles for checkout and other fun stuff like free movie night in the main room. They also host karaoke nights, wine tastings, etc. Different things for different nights. There's also a pool and a hot tub.

Nearby stores/restaurants: The food at the Mexican restaurant right next door was great. That place gets really busy since it is local favorite. There is also a great little cafe (DELICIOUS breakfast) and a yogurt/ice cream shop. Within walking distance, there are several seafood restaurants and there is also a 7-Eleven.

The weather was great, so we rode our bikes along the beach. The beach wasn't that crowded. This place would be great for a small family or people looking for a charming place to stay at near the ocean. Hope my review helps!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SassyGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews