We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, but rooms are dark and musty. Definitely not going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, but rooms are dark and musty. Definitely not going back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

My family and I stayed there for just 2 nights, and we were glad to get out. While the landscaping was beautiful, the units were dark, old and worn. We had a one-bedroom condo which had a small kitchen, though we didn't use it at all. Our room smelled musty, and no matter what we did, the smell stayed in the room. In fact, I think my husband got sick from it -- really sick. We were very disappointed because we had been looking forward to staying there, given how beautiful it looked.

The sales staff did try to get us to buy a timeshare, but no thank you. We did win a raffle at the "welcome breakfast" (translation: timeshare sales pitch) though. By the way, the lounge/library had that same musty smell.

We booked the room through Resortime.com and it came with 1 free breakfast and 1 free dinner at local eateries which was handy. We tried the Mexican place adjacent to the hotel and we didn't care for it very much. The breakfast at adjacent cafe was pretty good, but be prepared for long lines.

The hotel has an excellent location -- in the heart of town and right by the ocean, but we were so turned off by the room, we're not going back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rooms are dark, old, worn and musty.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    232
    89
    35
    29
See reviews for
541
413
62
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

I needed to get out of Silicon Valley for the weekend to get some fresh air and personal time, and I bee-lined straight for Carlsbad. I didn't have a place lined up, so I just drove up the coast and waited for a hotel to strike me as the right place to stay. The Carlsbad Inn seemed perfect for its proximity to shops, restaurants, and most importantly, the beach. I also loved the generally cheery atmosphere that you feel immediately as you walk onto the grounds. It is full of vacationing families from Arizona and other parts of California, and everyone is in a happy, relaxed mood. Since I work in tech in Silicon Valley and am surrounded by 22 year old tech-obsessed engineers all the time, I found it really refreshing to be around happy beach-going families for a change.

The room was very cute. As others have described, the furnishing is a throwback to the 80s, but everything is well-kept and comfortable. Again, I found it kind of refreshing to see some solid English-style chintz decor in contrast to all the mod, sleek furniture at most nice hotels these days.

You can walk to the beach in a couple minutes, which you should do, obviously. At night, I recommend the Cantina on the property for good margaritas and San Diego style Mexican food and atmosphere (which is to say, not authentically Mexican, but good and fun just the same).

Really, nothing to dislike about this place. It isn't hip, but that is a good thing if what you're looking for is a good old beach vacation in San Diego. There's nothing better than that, really, and I say that after having been all over the world.

  • Liked — proximity to beach, happy atmosphere
  • Disliked — price was maybe slightly high, but I guess you're paying for the location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaytchinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
--
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

Very nice stay at the Carlsbad Inn. Very family friendly. Older but very clean. Nice walk to beach and the Village. We really liked their beach service: umbrellas, beach chairs, sand toys, boggie boards. All nice, clean and new. Not rusty and used looking. The beach was fun, lots of surfers, pretty crowded, so not a secluded beach. This resort would not be ideal for honeymooners or for a quite weekend for couples. More for families. Great time and we would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

I just had to write and say what wonderful time we had at the carlsbad inn. We stayed in the suite which was great since we had 3 small children. You could not ask for a better location: we could walk to breakfast, shopping, happy hour, and dinner. And just minutes from legoland! I gave 4 stars, instead of 5, only because the hotel is older. Definitely a place for families; but would not suggest it for a romantic getaway or honeymoon. Way too many kids for that!! The staff were all very helpful and nice. 2 computers in the lobby area to access email, lookup directions. I could not have been happier! Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank violet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Pleasant hotel on the beach and center of village. Our room overlooked the busy Pacific Coast Highway and was noisy when we had the patio doors opened. However, the room was very quiet once the sliding doors were closed. Great location. Good Irish restaurant about five blocks from hotel (good food and great Irish ambiance).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

We had a very nice time at the Carlsbad Inn, the staff really made us feel like family. They seemed genuine, not fake. The grounds are beautiful, the flowers and plants obviously receive a lot of attention.

Private stairway to the beach, which was clean and quite nice. The hotel is right in the Village of Carlsbad, with lots of great reasonably-priced restaurants, and antique shops. Very quaint. The Tudor architecture matches the Village too, nice "sense of place."

This hotel is a very good value, lots of character, not a "cookie cutter" chain, but one-of-a-kind!

  • Liked — the architecture, Village setting
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

Living in San Diego we wanted a weekend get away that would also save us gas.
Stayed in the Ocean Suite. Very nice. Kitchenette, with dishwasher, fridge, and all the dishes and pots and pans you may need. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub that was fabulous. One block away is the beach. The resort allows you to check out beach chairs, umbrella, towels, beach toys, etc. for free. You can also rent bicycles for 2 hours at a time for free.
The View: Although there is a view of the ocean, between you and the ocean is the property's lawn, pool, and jacuzzi. DON'T book this room if you don't want noise. The swimming pool is right below your balcony and you will hear kids playing and doing what kids do-make noise! Being a teacher I'm used to it and it didn't bother me at all. However, the mexican restaurant next door, has a bar and you will hear music and people in the evening. If you're looking for quiet, book another room. The hotel is very clean, staff friendly, FANTASTIC mexican restaurant immediately next door to the property.

  • Liked — The ease of getting to the beach.
  • Disliked — The noise from the restaurant next door.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrysanthemum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Property: Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing