We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having been so fortunate to have spent a week in July for each of the past 14 years for my husband's family reunion, my words are only of praise. I've rated "excellent" on every topic below, but wish there could be a higher rating.
Upon arrival, I feel as though I've come home to the welcoming arms of my old friend "The Inn". Our car remains in the garage, for the most part, as every possible restaurant or shopping "opportunity" is within walking distance.
We are refreshed, renewed and relieved of every care and concern possible.
This year we were able to meet Randy, who has helped to coordinate the timeshares for us. Randy, thank you! You're the best, Also, thank you to the entire staff of the Carlsbad Inn. You have achieved your goal of making our vacation perfect each and every year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Claire C,
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We certainly hope to continue hosting your husband's family reunions, as we look forward to welcoming you all back year after year. It is our pleasure to help in the coordination of reunions to come. We look forward to seeing you and the family back again next summer!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

While this resort is not on the beach itself, it is very easy walking distance to the sand. It's a wonderful location. As someone mentioned, once you park the car you can walk everywhere. The units are spacey and have nice balconies. The common areas are especially nice and this is one property where you want to hang out in the lobby area. The pool is really nice and there's some really nice grassy areas for lounging about.
I liked the amenities provided and the complimentary wine reception in the afternoon was really nice. There is a good Mexican restaurant adjacent to the resort as well as a really good frozen yogurt store. The train station is a couple of blocks away so you can easily hop the train to San Diego for the day if you wish. Overall, this is one of the nicer beach properties in Southern California and also a very homey and comfortable one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kewlbreezes51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi kewlbreezes51,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so glad to learn of your experience, as it seems you truly enjoyed our amenities, especially our wine reception. We're thrilled you had some time to check out the surrounding area of Carlsbad as well. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Randy Chapin, the general manager, and his staff do an outstanding job year in and year out to make the Carlsbad Inn a wonderful place for our family reunion. Each year the Inn gets better and better. This summer there was an outdoor movie night in the quad plus organized games for the children. The total remodel of the facility makes it quite a wonderful beach experience and the fire pits are perfect! Randy and his staff do whatever it takes to make this a wonderful vacation for all.

Room Tip: Any room here is perfect. The Pacific Ocean is just steps away plus there are about 50 eateries in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Sue C,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. I greatly appreciate your kind words. I, and my staff, certianly enjoy serving your family and creating the experience that keeps you coming back year after year. It's great to hear how much you enjoy our resort activities and our facility as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back every year!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is our favorite place to vacation in Southern California. This resort is all about the location and the location is unbeatable! We rarely use the car at all when we're there. Grocery stores, shopping, activities and many restaurants are within easy walking distance. The resort offers free bicycles (for 2 hours at a time) if you want to go a bit further. There is a large grassy courtyard in the middle of the resort with plenty of chairs and chase lounges for relaxing and reading. There is a nice pool and hot tub for everyone at one end of the courtyard and an adult hot tub at the other. They also have a couple of fire pits that are fun to congregate around in the evenings. They keep the place quiet after 9:00 too so the activity doesn't keep you from getting a good night's sleep. They have a good sized workout room with several ellipticals and treadmills and a couple of stationary bikes. They also have a lot of weights and weight machines. They have many resort activities for both the adults and the kids throughout the week. There is also a nice indoor sitting room near the lobby that has cushioned chairs and couches along with a TV and some computers for internet access. The rooms themselves have been remodeled and are smaller than some of the newer resorts but are plenty big enough for us. The condo rooms all have a full kitchen and there are also several gas barbeque grills around the grounds that can be used at any time. There is a large parking garage underneath the big courtyard that ensures you never have to walk far to get to the car. All of this is great but in addition, you're right across the street from the beach. You do have to go down some stairs to get there but it is a very short walk to the water from the bottom. The beach itself is very nice and doesn't feel crowded at all since it isn’t as easy to get to if you’re not either staying at the resort or nearby. The resort offers chairs, umbrellas, and boogie boards from a cabana right close to the beach so you don't need to take all that stuff down and back. In addition, the resort offers towels that can be used and exchanged as many times as needed. You can literally go to the beach with your towel, get all your equipment at the beach, spend the day in and out of the ocean going back to the resort hot tub periodically to warm up (if the weather is cooler) while keeping all of the sand, equipment and mess out of your room. They even have a small shower and spigot by the adult hot tub for rinsing the sand off your body and feet in particular when you want to get in the hot tub or when you’re finally done at the beach. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you love the beach, it just doesn’t get any better than this!

Room Tip: Views can include the courtyard and the ocean. Many ocean views will face the street though so decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Chaz C,
Thank you for choosing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're thrilled to know we're your favorite resort to vacation. There are plenty of amazing restaurants, shops, and activities to experience just footsteps away. We're glad you had a chance to check out the area. Our pool and hot tub is great for relaxing and we're happy you enjoyed the fitness area as well. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My first stay was for business, then vacation, then business. In the off-season, the hotel is quiet, so great place to work with beach access and a pool/spa. Children seem to love playing on the lawn, but they tend to be well-behaved. Must be grandchildren of the timeshare owners? In any event, just enough life to the place, but still peaceful.

There is a speaker or wine tasting in the lounge, where they have coffee in the mornings. Adequate work out facility, more than you'd expect for this type of hotel. Bikes on loan.

Walking distance to restaurants, some directly across the parking area. The short walk into town (3 short blocks, actual blocks) takes you to a coffee/wine bar, shoe store (most comfortable shoes in the world? Congratulations!), three excellent white table cloth restaurants (maybe more), and services (hair, shipping, etc.).

Beach is nice for walking, flat enough, with a lagoon and weird English Tudor neighborhood to the north. Navy education center, so you will feel very safe and proud.

Room Tip: Ask to face the lawn and closer to the ocean on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Sibyl B,
Thank you for staying at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're glad we could host you for both business and vacation trips. It's great to know you enjoyed the wine tasting in the lounge and complimentary coffee in the morning. There are many amazing restaurants and shops in walking distance. Whether business or pleasure, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love Carlsbad and have stayed many places, but none compare with the Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the resort provides everything you could possibly need for a perfect beach day, including towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys, etc. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that had a fully stocked kitchen, a beautiful bathroom and deck and plenty of space and sleeping options for our family (2 adults/3 kids). The location is ideal, right on the beach, and you can walk everywhere - meals, shopping, ice cream, coffee, you name it. We parked our car in the garage upon arrival and didn't need it until check out! This place is outstanding and we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Susan W,
We're thrilled you love Carlsbad and Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort! It sounds like you had a wonderful time checking out the beach and making use of our complimentary towels, beach chairs, and beach accessories. We're glad you had time to check out some of the amazing restaurants and shops in the area, and you are right "Park your car; you won't need it!" is one of our favorite lines at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at many different resorts, but the Carlsbad Inn is our family favorite. The beach access and walkability to restaurants means you don't have to get back in your car once you arrive. Combine that with relaxing by the pool, or lunching on the lawn, and there is nothing more relaxing that a week at the Carlsbad Inn. We also love how you can always hear the familiar chink of wine glasses toasting at the end of each floor, as hopefuls await a glimpse of the mysterious "green flash" that may occur when the sunset touches the horizon. There are many other attractions close by, but you may never want to leave the resort!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lawn instead of the street are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi D K,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're thrilled you had such an amazing stay and enjoyed our convenient location to the beach, as well as, the many restaurants and shops in the area. Downtown Carlsbad is beautiful and the perfect place to explore while staying at our resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see your own Green Flash!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,349 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
6.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $170 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center to make the most of your stay. Please note a Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. **Construction Notice - Please Read Fully Prior to Booking** As we look to improve the Carlsbad Inn Guest Experience, renovations of the Oak Building Condos are scheduled for October - December 2017. There will be construction noise during the day and debris in the Oak Building area of the resort. Through the construction process we have taken steps to minimize the impact to Guests while on property during this time. We do encourage our Owners and Guests to enjoy the courtyard, beach and area attractions during their stay while construction is underway. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing