We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Carlsbad Gem”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Carlsbad Inn is in the heart of downtown Carlsbad, CA. It is a nice resort a few steps away from the beach. The resort is surrounded by many nice restaurants, bars & local shops. Everything you need is walking distance. It has been recently renovated so the rooms are nice and trendy! If you are looking for a resort right near the beach, this is the one! Perfect for any occasion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi aforester,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so thrilled you had a great time visiting the heart of the town and checking out some of the local restaurants, bars, and local shops. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Randal C. Chapin
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    236
    91
    36
    31
See reviews for
563
425
62
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This resort is fantastic...quiet, overlooks the ocean, flowers and well kept grounds year round. There are so many helpful, wonderful, friendly employees, etc. Randy Chapin, Mgr. and his team do an excellent job keeping this resort so attractive and well run. Carlsbad Inn is a big asset to the GPX resorts and destination choices.
One of our favorite places to visit in California.

Room Tip: No review was done on room service or spa as this resort does not have a restaurant or formal spa st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leserer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Leserer,
It's great to hear how fantastic your stay with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort was. Our staff does a great job at making sure our guests feel welcomed and are on the right track for a successful stay. We look forward to a future return!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were excited to visit Carlsbad Inn again this year. As usual, we were warmly greeted at the front desk, this time by Sabrina. She assured us that our Special Needs had been arranged for and told us about the activities at the Inn. Once again, the overall appearance makes you feel right at home. Beautiful chandeliers, fireplace, comfortable reading areas, computers, TV, and refreshments. Our rooms were spacious yet cozy with warm colors and accents. Thanks to housekeeping staff like Lorenza and Juana, we had everything we needed from immaculate restrooms to large fluffy towels. That would be enough to warrant a return trip but there's more. Every inch of the grounds is landscaped to give you a tropical and relaxing visit. This Inn is not only a great location in itself, it's located near the beach and lovely running/biking paths. The city of Carlsbad also has lots to offer in the way of services and restaurants. Well, at last our relaxing time was up. We were graciously check out by Karen with a lovely smile and an invitation to return soon. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall away from the main and central entrances. Very quiet. We have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi SoCalAce,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're always so happy to hear from our returning guests and aim to make sure your vacation was better than the last. There's plenty to do around Carlsbad, and we hope you had a chance to check it out. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is great if you want a romantic get away. Make sure you get a room overlooking water because if not you will be on the street. Alot of things to do pools,bike,ping pong, music. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are cleaned. Could use some updating. Would stay again and wish I could be back there laying by the pool and spa

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amysz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Amysz15,
We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're happy you had fun hanging out by the pool and listening to music. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon!

Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited for a family vacation with my daughter's family. They stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and we stayed in a one bedroom condo. Staff was friendly, helpful and always around. Free bikes, swimming, table tennis, towels, sand tools for kids all at the hotel. Close by rentals for surfing and boogie boards and wetsuits. We went in April. Weather in the 60-70 range. Location was perfect, though there were some stairs to negotiate to get to the beach. The place was spotless. I would recommend it to anyone looking to relax.

Room Tip: Encourage the condos. Good pool and beach view and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 941RobertA941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Robert A,
We're so glad we could host you at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort while vacationing with your daughter's family. We're happy you enjoyed biking, swimming, table tennis and many of the other activities and accommodations we provide our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the Inn for 4 nights while in town for a wedding. The location was fantastic, and within easy walking distance to everything you might want or need (shopping, spas, restaurants, etc.). The beach access was just across the street, but the outdoor area of the Inn had a very nice view of the ocean. The outdoor area had beautiful landscaping and comfy lounge chairs and chaises, plus nice umbrella tables for shade and seating around fire pits. The pool seamed nice but was a bit on the smaller side for the size of the hotel, and since it was crowded with kids we mostly sat on the chaises or borrowed beach chairs and went down by the ocean (still too cold to swim). Our hotel room was spacious and clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom was older, dated, and the lighting was bad, but it was adequate. Unfortunately, the hallways were pretty noisy and they rooms weren't very sound proof, so early risers woke us up from the sounds they made. Being able to borrow bikes, beach chairs, games, and equipment was a nice feature, and the hotel offered activities (wine tasting, make your own root beer float, etc.). We had a bit of a view from our window, and the price per night was very reasonable given the location and amenities, but I did hear that neighboring hotels had better views and more spacious rooms. We were happy with our stay though!

Room Tip: Try to get an "inside" room facing the pool area, since the traffic noise can be quite lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Samantha F,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. Whether you’re enjoying our lounge chairs by the pool or the instant access to the beach, there's plenty to do to relax. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your room and made use of some of the accommodations we provide our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very nice rooms, complete with kitchenettes. We stayed in "condo" portion of the Inn. Coffee and newspaper every morning. Very nice pool. Very nice exercise room and stuff for kids (ping pong and bicycles). The proximity to restaurants and shopping were excellant.

Room Tip: Downstairs units are a little noisy from upstairs units foot traffic. Only a minor irritant and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edholdren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi bigedinsb45,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're glad you were able to relax with a coffee and newspaper every morning. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Randal C. Chapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
659 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Property: Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. Please note a Daily Parking Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at the property upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing