We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, but Loud!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Location, but Loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are timeshare owners, but paid $150 as an exchange per night to stay at the CIBR during a few days of spring break. The resort is just a block from the beach, which is the best part about it. Parking is a little tight at times in the underground garage, but not too bad.

The units have been remodeled very nicely and were perfectly clean with an excellent kitchenette, and the landscaping and amenities (esp the adult hot tub) are very attractive and enjoyable. However, it seemed as if there were a herd of elephants staying above us, and the squealing and yelling of the kids was heard despite the fact that we were on the street side.

Norte, a very good Mexican restaurant, is located at the property, and many other eateries and shopping establishments are within easy walking distance. We particularly enjoyed Farenheit 451, the nearby bookstore, and Remi, a new wine bar in town with great live music.

The rental homes and units along the beach are lovely, and the beach is wide and sandy. It's not as wild and picturesque of course as Northern California beaches, but it's plenty lovely and we got lots of sunny afternoons when we were there for sun worshipping in the sand.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Chris A,
It's great to hear of your recent time spent with us at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your unit and relaxing in our hot tub. There's many great restaurants and shops around town. Norte, Farenheit 451, and Remi are wonderful. We're glad you had fun. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    232
    89
    35
    29
See reviews for
541
413
62
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a great experience at The Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Roxi Esposito booked us two perfect rooms for our family gathering. We rented a one bedroom, one bath and a two bedroom, two bath. The rooms were clean and very nicely furnished. The one bedroom had a nice spacious kitchen which was perfect for our family and a great gathering place for a small birthday party with family and friends. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. I loved the blanket they provided on the beds. So soft and cozy. The complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby area is a nice touch. The adult jacuzzi and fireplace pit was a great place to relax at the end of the day.
I great place to go and relax with a beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyM5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi CindyM5565,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. It's great to learn of your most recent stay with us. Our pillows, beds, and blankets are very comfortable. We're glad they suited you well. Relaxing in the jacuzzi or next to the fire pit is always nice after a long day. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful atmosphere again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thanks to the guiding hand of Resort Manager Roxi Esposito, our family gathering became an effortless celebration for all. The accommodations were top notch in every way. Clean, quiet, upscale and accessible to everyone in our party, even those with special needs. In addition, no one had to venture far to find a fun activity. Lots of restaurants were within walking distance, the beach is just below the resort and outdoor adventures surround the resort.

Room Tip: Best views on the 3rd floor. The 2 bedroom arrangement has everything for 2 couples or more. One bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Jeffrey T,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so thrilled to hear that your family's gathering was top notch. Our resort offers tons of activities to our guests. We're glad you had fun participating in them! We hope to welcome you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my family and experienced the best stay at a hotel in a long time. Thanks to Roxi, our stay was amazing! Roxi was very nice, and informative. She knew all the best places to eat and the best places for entertainment. Never felt so genuinely taken care of by a hotel employee.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybluejeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Mybluejeans88,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. There's many amazing shops, restaurants, and much entertainment to be discovered here in Carlsbad. We're glad Roxi could point you in the right direction. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sometimes places on the beach just don't live up to expectations. This place exceeded my expectations--and then some!
From Kelly the activity director to the people at the front desk, the staff was very professional and personable. The room was amazing. We spent a couple of evenings just hanging out around the fires in the courtyard and taking in the wonderful view of the ocean. We also walked the easy steps to the sand for great walks on the beach.
I know it sounds like a little thing--but the soy bean (i think() beds and the high quality pillows even got mentions from my two sons (12 and 17) who said--wow these are the best beds ever.

We almost canceled a chartered fishing trip just to spend more time relaxing there.
I would certainly stay there again--and hope to on vacation in years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi GaryandPam,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We are so glad you and your family had such a great time hanging around the fire pit in the courtyard and looking out to the ocean view. Our beds are super comfortable and we're happy your sons agree. You'll just have to come back again soon to try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were put into a ground floor unit but had a fireplace (which we used daily) and only 6 units have fireplaces, so we felt special. We also had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. The 1 BR unit was clean and quite spacious and had a very comfortable bed and pillows. The towels were plentiful and of very good quality. There were a lot of activities offered at this resort and it appeared to be a well managed resort. Many restaurants were within walking distance and we had an enjoyable week.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request upper floors with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi VEFlowers,
Thank you for reviewing Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're so glad you loved the fireplace in your room and that you used it daily. It's always nice to snuggle up with a nice fire. We hope you had a chance to visit some of the local restaurants and shops as well during your stay. There are many to choose from and all great! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful days here in March and wish it would have been 3 weeks. What a fabulous place for a vacation.It has excellent oceanview rooms with very comfy beds, the staff is just wonderful and the beach just steps away from our room. Numerous restaurants within walking distance, friendly outdoor atmosphere, strawberry picking and outlet mall nearby. There is something for everyone. Now that we have found this fabulous place we will be regular visitors. Thank you for a wonderful time, Carlsbad Inn and Staff

Room Tip: Even their non-ocean view rooms are wonderful. We prefer the rooms with the little kitchen in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMonthebeach, General Manager at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Billy W,
Let us thank you for allowing us to provide you with a wonderful stay here at Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort. We're pleased to hear you had such an excellent 3-day stay and wish you and your wife could have stayed longer as well. You'll have to come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Property: Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing