We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$236
$209
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Beach Terrace Inn(Carlsbad)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $398/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$209
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$230
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$419
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$375
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
995
256
97
38
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
256
97
38
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancethe mexican restaurantacross the streetadult jacuzzibeach chairsboogie boardsbedroom condohot tubsan diegothe coasterdaily news cafedaily activitiestime shareunderground parkingocean viewrestaurants and shopssouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have tried to get into this timeshare for the past 5 years but it was always fully booked. We didn't want to put off our trip to California any longer and so checked in as a hotel paying guest. We are so glad that we still stayed here rather than choosing one of the other hotels. The resort itself was very clean and well maintained. Our room was very well furnished and serviced every day. We loved our 4 night stay here and will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennybambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

a friend of mine had some groupons for this hotel. we decided to go to legoland, and this hotel is four miles away. i was blown away by the modern look of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff, and the proximity to restaurants and the beach. the common areas look like something out of a design magazine. the fire pit and pool are amazing. the hotel loans out boogie boards to use at the beach. the only thing i would change is the location of the check-in desk at the foot of the stairs. they're right next to each other, and people coming and going up and down the stairs have to walk around the guests checking in. i will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generationx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We exchanged a week through RCI. I wanted to be near San Diego but not be IN San Diego. Overall, this was a good choice. It's near the beach but not right on the beach. Depending on where you book your room, you could get a beach view but it's still a walk across a street and down some steps to actually feel the sand and the ocean mist. If it's important for you to actually smell the ocean and hear those waves lapping at your door, then this isn't the place for you.

We just got back from our week there. Overall, there were more positives than negatives.

The resort is U-shaped with condos running down the sides (namely, the Elm Condos and the Oak condos) and at the base of the "U" are the hotel rooms. The pool, jacuzzi and courtyard are inside the U so if you have rooms facing the inside, they can get pretty noisy. We were in the Elm Condos, 3rd floor facing the small street and we had no noise. The only complaint I have is people slamming their doors in the morning but that didn't happen often and it didn't keep us from sleeping in. We didn't hear screaming kids running up and down the hallways on the 3rd floor but they were all over the ground floor near the pool area. Lots of families come to Carlsbad Inn so if you find kids annoying, think twice before booking there.

On our first day, we were told that if your check-in is on a Saturday, you're in the Oak Condos. If your check-in is on a Sunday, you're in the Elm Condos. I guess if you check in on any other day, it's a coin toss.

We had a one-bedroom condo. It had plenty of towels, enough dishes, utensils and pots and pans for me to cook breakfast and a couple of dinners, and a big comfortable bed. I had to ask the front desk for a non-stick frying pan to cook eggs because the condo had only stainless steel pans and those are cr@p for making eggs. I don't know why they keep non-stick pans in a secret place at the front desk when the one we got from them was in worse shape than some of the really cheap pans I bought when I first lived on my own.

Wi-fi was pretty good and we didn't have any connection problems. There was always plenty of hot water and the A/C was really efficient. Coming from AZ where the humidity is non-existent, we ran the A/C continuously very cold to keep the humidity down.

On the down side, the condo was dated and needed to be upgraded. The fixtures looked old and the overall feel of the place was tired and used. The carpet was just plain ugly although it didn't look worn. But the furniture was in dark wood and looked modern and upgraded and we had two flat screen tvs so our unit had some upgraded furniture at least.

Our check-in was fast but as we later discovered, they forgot to give us some necessary information. We weren't given our welcome packet until we went down to ask for it (remember, you're supposed to get a welcome packet at check-in). We weren't told about the resort fee and had to ask about that after I discovered a $90+ charge on my credit card. Also, it took us asking the front desk twice to replace the light above our door before someone finally put a new bulb in.

On the plus side, we got our mid-week cleaning and housekeeping did ask us twice if we wanted new towels.

The elevators are slow so hubby and I used the stairs a lot to get up and down from the third floor. Frankly they need more elevators especially when you're trying to schlep all your bags and stuff for a week's stay up to your room and need one of those carts to haul everything but the elevator is just big enough for one cart and maybe two medium size people.

We used the laundromat once, which is located in the parking garage near the Oak Condo elevator. It's small but they have soap for purchase and the washers and dryers are cheap.

I know this is called a "resort" but I believe that a resort should have AT THE VERY LEAST a restaurant on site specifically for the guests, particularly the hotel guests. There's a restaurant on the grounds called Norte but it isn't specifically for the guests - it doesn't have room service or have breakfast available for guests or provide room service to the hotel guests or the units. Although we had a kitchen in our unit, if I'm staying at a "resort" I want the amenity of an onsite restaurant that caters to resort guests, whether you're in the hotel rooms or the timeshare units.

We spent much of our time outside the unit so we missed the calls for timeshare presentations. We did get messages about it (which we ignored). No one pushed us to attend anything although we did get some printed material about units for sale (which we tossed).

We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi - too many kids, too noisy, too crowded - and opted instead to hang out at the beach which was less crowded and the ocean sounds drowned out the screaming children. The unit had beach towels and beach chairs already so we just had to schlep those down to the beach.

The resort is in a good location and our stay had only a few glitches so for our first time in Carlsbad, this was a good choice. But we don't intend to come back and stay here again. Our unit was dated and needs to be upgraded and there are plenty of other nicer places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Highly recommended for anyone staying around San Diego. Steps away from the ocean; cannot beat the location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the premises will leave you feeling relaxed and recharged. Only complaint is that my room (in the main building) did little to muffle the sound from the hallway. Overall it was a great stay and will be coming back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We traded our timeshare fort a week here, but it is also a hotel. It is located in Carlsbad Village and only steps from the ocean.

The building and grounds are most welcoming. Flowers, plants and trees adorn the grounds and the building is perfect for the location.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit with full kitchen and living room. Everything was clean and up-to-date. They even provided two beach chairs.

The resort features a large lawn courtyard with a pool at one end and large hot tub at the other. The hot tub overlooks the Pacific and it is a perfect place to watch the sun set. In between the pool and hot tub are tables and chairs with umbrellas and cushioned lounge chairs. There are also two big fire pits with comfortable chairs that make a nice place to have a drink and meeting other vacationers.

On site is a very good Mexican Restaurant and breakfast/lunch restaurant. The Mexican restaurant has happy hour every evening.

We hope we can return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews