We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Carlsbad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Carlsbad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nearly seven miles of beautiful beaches, picturesque lagoons, the charm of a European village coupled with world class golf, spas and shopping -- Carlsbad provides something for every travel taste and budget. The beautiful Carlsbad Inn is a very charming place located right on the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sibylleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    229
    86
    34
    28
See reviews for
528
409
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

My vacation at Carlsbad inn was so much fun. You can hang out in your room or by the pool of you want to relax. If you are looking for things to do talk with activities. The staff was very helpfully. Today there was live music on the green all day and there was an exotic animal show as well.
The next time I am in north county for vacation I will defiantly check in at this resort. Thanks to the staff for making this vacation such a memorable one!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanBagshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The outside looks very charming, but the rooms themselves are quite ordinary. For the price, you would expect a breakfast (and a good one at that) but instead you get coffee. I would compare the experience to a Crowne Plaza or Doubletree, but at a considerably higher price. The pictures make it appear you overlook the beach, when that is not the case. You walk about 5 minutes to a public access point for the beach. All in all, not the best value, but a fairly nice location. Staff was pleasant. Train noise was irritating, as well as the sound of lawn mowers or street sweepers at 2AM.

Room Tip: Get a condo when they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 73_Painted_Desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The resort is not new but it is better than new because it has all new rooms , lobby and social area but it has the charm of an older resort. It is a very friendly atmosphere. Everything you want is nearby. The ocean, the restaurants, the cute little town, outlet shopping, casinos, San Diego on the coaster, and many other places to go..........

Everything you could ask for and more............................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChetGoldCanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Carlsbad Inn is a wonderful place to stay and play. The location is ideal for sitting on a pleasant beach, walking to nearby independent restaurants and quaint shops, or just relaxing on the resort's green overlooking the ocean.
This is a small resort with both hotel rooms and time share condos. The accommodations are stylish and immaculate, and the grounds are well groomed with beautiful flowers. Complimentary quality coffee is available every morning. The staff is professional and courteous, and greatly extends themselves to meet guests' requests. We have owned and used our timeshare week here for twenty-four years and continue to enjoy the same quality experience since we first purchased our timeshare.
Thank you again, Carlsbad staff, you are the BEST!
Traveling T

Room Tip: Request a room on the green when possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIssion Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed one night at the property using a Plum District voucher and the hotel allowed us to upgrade our room to a newer king on the third floor when we made our reservation.

The property is in a great location just steps from the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants. Older property but extremely well maintanied and very clean. Our check in process was pleasant and everyone at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. Parking is underground - very convenient and plentiful.

Our room was very clean and looked to be recently renovated - tastefully decorated. There was ample closet space and drawers for those staying for an extended visit. The TV was large and the hotels cable system provides a variey of channels. The bed was comfortable with nice, clean, crisp linens. Bathroom is large with oversize shower, double sinks and ample room to store toiletries. Nice size balcony with clean patio furniture. My favorite was the ceiling fan - we never had to turn the air conditioner on. Extra touches include a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and DVD player.

Ice and a variety of vending machines, including DVD rental kiosk, were available on the first floor. We did not uses the pool, but it looked large and clean. There is a large area where you can enjoy a fire pit, loung chairs, and a large jacuzzi.

My only complaint was the noise - it made for a sleepless night. Every time somebody left their room, you could hear their door slam. If they were talking in the hallway, you could hear every word of their conversation as if they were in the room with you. We could hear everything our neighbors were doing and saying. To top everything off, our room faced the street, so we also had to contend with the traffic noise. I would suggest that anyone staying here, request a room facing the pool and bring ear plugs.

Avoid the Mexican restaurant Norte that is located next to the resort - the food and service was horrible.

We walked over to Relm Wine Bar for some appetizers and a bottle of wine. Grabbed burgers at Knockout Burgers - would recommend both.

Make sure you stop at the Chocolate Bar for some yummy desserts, chocolates, and a glass of wine. The staff was very friendly and helped us choose a variety of chocolates to try.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool or upgrade to the condo units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having stayed at several places in Carlsbad and neighboring communities, Carlsbad Inn ranks # 1 in our book because everything you could need or want is at your fingertips. We stay in the condo units (units 216 and 316 being our fave expanded 1-bedroom units). Units have been fully renovated (soft goods and case goods) since our previous stay in 2009. Stayed week of May 6, 2012 for the 3rd time in 6 years.

Community feel achieved by resort having events (live music, wine, snacks, etc.) on the central lawn a couple of days a week. Other terrific activities or kick back and relax on your balcony or terrace. Beach just beyond the single row of houses across a quiet dead end street. Norte's Mexican restaurant on premises is wonderful. Shops and variety of restaurants pubs all within 1 to 4 blocks walk.

Room Tip: Rooms 216 and 316 are one-bedroom that sleep 6 thanks to an expanded living with discreet murphy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.5 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort

Property: Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Address: 3075 Carlsbad Blvd., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car... You won't need it! Steps to the beach, in the Village of Carlsbad with shops, restaurants, wine bistros and bars. All of life's comforts are conveniently included in each guest room with our signature Sleep Therapy beds, iHome, flat screen TV, DVD player, small refrigerator, Keurig coffee brewer, plantation shutters and luxury linens. Our resort offers heated pool, ocean view courtyard with fire pits, adult hot tub, fitness center with sauna and an activities center with beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, bikes (for guests over 16 with ID) and many other amenities to make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlsbad Inn Beach Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hotel
Carlsbad Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing