We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria

Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria
2508 El Camino Real, Carlsbad CA, Carlsbad, CA 92008
760 720 1132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 324 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The thin crust pizza was excellent, not too salty. They offered fresh bread to start and it was excellent. We sat outside on the patio, they had heaters on low... just right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol-Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

very friendly staff. old school italian, heavy sauces and pastas. Manicotti filling was plain, alfredo was good, salad was ok, couldn't find prices for drinks, just grab and charge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dktrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Pizza, period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have been eating at Spiritos for more than 20 years. The pizza is the best I have tasted in Southern California. It is New York/New Jersey thin crust which is like the pizza I ate growing up. The rest of the menu is also excellent. Prices are more than reasonable. There is little ambiance in this small location but people come here for the food. I strongly recommend.
The restaurant is located on El Camino across from the Carlsbad Mall in the Von's shopping center. The Carlsbad Village address is the former location frfom 5 years ago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bhm_831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree National Park, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was looking for Spiritos but instead found Gregorios....ends up the name has changed but the food is still the same (i.e. EXCELLENT). The pizza (for the kids) was great and my eggplant parm was to die for. I had the choice of plain pasta or ravioli to go w/the eggplant.... it was my good fortune to choose ravioli because it was OUTRAGEOUSLY fabulous ... and when I go again that's what I'm going to get. (It was huge, filled with fab cheese, and obviously homemade.) Service was iffy ... seems as if we got stuck at a table that wasn't being waited on by any particular waiter/waitress .... but it did seem as if everyone else was getting great service. Nevertheless, SO GOOD and I'll definitely go again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabijo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best pizza in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am an east coast guy born and raised, and Spirito's is the best NY style pizza in San Diego -- better than Bronx, URBN, Knockout, Basic, Leucadia, etc., and I have had them all! Spirito's excellent sauce extends to exactly the right place on the delicious dough, there is the perfect amount of mozzarella, not-too-salty and correct amount of pepperoni -- I go there for pizza weekly. In fact, I want to go there right now! Really, everything here is good -- pastas, sauces, meats, cannoli, etc. It is hard to find though -- in the Von's shopping center on El Camino Real across from the Carlsbad Mall. I wish they had a better foot-traffic location, but I guess it's a blessing because the place would be packed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TuffysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Spiritos Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing