We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little restaurant”

Pelly's Fish Market & Cafe
Ranked #22 of 337 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything is ultra fresh, reasonably priced and consistant, Also dog friendly in the patio! All meals are cooked to order. And fresh fish market is excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank auntieogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
2 reviews
“Not Happy with Service Or Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My experience with market/cafe was less then favorable. Arrived at the market and really had a taste for ahi pokie and seared ahi sandwhiches. Had never been to this establishment before so was really needing some special care and information from the staff. I asked for a half pound of the ahi poki which was 22.75 a pound. That wouldnt have been bad except when I got it home it was very fatty. We also ordered two seared ahi sandwhiches on the sourdough. Was not aware that the sourdough was untoasted. My response from the employee was "if you want it toasted you have to request that". I had never been here before so I didnt know any better. So all in all I got the sandwhiches home and my other half and I were disgusted by them and the poki and ended up throwing all our food away. Would not visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fresh fish, fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

this can be hard to find but this fish store sells and serves terrific seafood. Soups and chowders, sandwiches, taco are great. Indoor and out door seating , ice tea and beer for sale

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bess32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Go for the Chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The New England Clam chowder is always excellent. Great service and good prices, always some prep advice if you ask.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KickyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Halibut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Halibut sandwich on sourdough, ask for it to be toasted, is wonderful and I love the coleslaw, they use vinegar not mayonnaise.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jog4lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelly's Fish Market & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pelly's Fish Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing