We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Young Family Friendly”

LEGOLAND California
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.99*
and up
LEGOLAND® California
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Carlsbad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LEGOLAND® California Resort has more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the new LEGO® Star Wars™: The Force Awakens Miniland Model Display opening March with a 16-foot long Finalizer model made completely out of LEGO bricks plus six more scenes! Conquer dragons, battle pirates and discover ancient treasures at the Resort, also home to LEGOLAND Water Park, SEA LIFE® Aquarium; and NEW for Summer enjoy Surfers’ Cove – a water park expansion featuring racer-water slides. There’s so much to do, you’ll want to spend the night at LEGOLAND Hotel featuring new LEGO NINJAGO themed rooms.
Magna, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Young Family Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

First off let me say that we enjoyed the rides, and the park does have some charm. We went the Saturday after Thanksgiving and it was packed. The park had long wait lines on all the rides noon. We have a 3 year old son and a 1 1/2 year old daughter. Our daughter was only allowed to ride 2 rides the whole day. Our son got to ride most rides due to him being tall, but was unable to ride others due to his age. So we found out someone always had to stay off the rides with the toddler. Also my son got separated from us after dark. Legoland is a dark park at night and a lack of staff being out and about didn't help our situation. He was found in about 15 mins at the first aid booth, but we had no help in finding him due to there not being any staff to be found. Would rather spend my money and time over at Disney, there are more options for toddlers there. Also food was just as expensive or more expensive than Disneyland.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl L, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Tiffany T, we would like to thank you for telling us about your LEGOLAND experience. For the future, we do have a guide for What to do when you are 2 on our website, which lets you know what rides and attractions at the Park have no height requirements. We apologize for the issue with your son, and are glad that he was found quickly and safely. When you enter the Park, you can get an identification wristband for your child/children to wear during their visit that could help this in the future. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rides – we are always trying to make each visit special, and we hope you join us again soon. Come by from December 26th-31st and you and your family can see our great fireworks. Tiffany T, thank you again for your comment, and we will be sure to pass it on to our management team. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,250
    1,660
    921
    460
    312
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Even my 20 year old was awestruck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Brianna (front desk) , Erick(bar), Lori (waitress, Skyline), Ashley(bar), Jamie (waitress, Bricks), Shawna (front desk), Steven (skyline), Blair(Amazing!!) (front desk) Myrna and Summer! These lovely people are among some of the amazing staff at the Legoland Hotel!
Each and every one of the people mentioned above blessed, helped or absolutely made our day in some way! They were much appreciated!!
The Christopher-Fields Family
September 9- October 1, 2013

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikey_N_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl L, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Mikey_N_Laurie, we are delighted to hear about your exceptional experience at our new LEGOLAND Hotel! We take great pride in having staff members who will make the stays memorable for each guest, and we are happy to know that they are providing such great service. We greatly appreciate the Christopher-Fields Family sharing their experience with us and we hope you can all visit us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
“Best time ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went in Oct. and stayed at the Legoland hotel. We had an awesome time!! We can't wait to go back! The hotel was pricey but you can't put a price on memories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl L, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us about your October visit to the LEGOLAND Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay was so wonderful, Jmmmom, and we can’t wait to have you back! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it. Can we get on in New Zealand or in Australia....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place was awesome. Well worth it especially for families with young children. I have a 5 and a 8 year old. They could not get enough of the rides. We traveled with the grandparents all the way from New Zealand. And they had just as much fun.
So much to see and much of it made from Lego. We went in winter so the water area was off limits for us. Would love to go there in summer. Worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharronr5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl L, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Mark R, we are pleased you had the opportunity to visit LEGOLAND and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We definitely recommend you come back in the summer so you can experience LEGOLAND Water Park and Pirate Shores! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you can come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for kids 4-12”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We took the grandkids (7 and 10) to Legoland in July. They really enjoyed it and had fun. However, the lines were long, the rides were short and the day was warm. There was a variety of stores & several food places to help separate you and your $$$. We took along snacks and water so we probably saved at least $30-40 there and we didn't walk into any of the souvenir stores.

The only reason we took the kids is because we got a buy one adult ticket and get a free kid's ticket, otherwise it was was too much money just to get in the park. Since Legoland does allow you to bring in snacks and food, it would be a good idea to do so if you are on a budget.

To me, Legoland is a waste of money for any children under the age of 4. There are height requirements for children to go on many of the rides. Younger children won't remember much of it and the things Legoland has geared towards the toddlers isn't worth the admission cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dml718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl L, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
dml718, we are glad that your grandkids enjoyed visiting us in July. We are not sure if you were able to visit our Water Park and SEA LIFE Aquarium, but those also tend to be popular for kids in that age group. We like that you were able to take advantage of our feature and bring in your own snacks, but we hope you got to try our Apple Fries because they are really popular and quite delicious! Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests and hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND California also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing