We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good For Kids Under Five Years Old”

LEGOLAND California
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.99*
and up
LEGOLAND® California
Ranked #3 of 63 things to do in Carlsbad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LEGOLAND® California Resort has more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the new LEGO® Star Wars™: The Force Awakens Miniland Model Display opening March with a 16-foot long Finalizer model made completely out of LEGO bricks plus six more scenes! Conquer dragons, battle pirates and discover ancient treasures at the Resort, also home to LEGOLAND Water Park, SEA LIFE® Aquarium; and NEW for Summer enjoy Surfers’ Cove – a water park expansion featuring racer-water slides. There’s so much to do, you’ll want to spend the night at LEGOLAND Hotel featuring new LEGO NINJAGO themed rooms.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good For Kids Under Five Years Old”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took my parents and five-year-old daughter to Legoland, and my friends with children were right: it's not for kids older than five. My daughter has been to many amusement parks, and the only thing she found interesting enough to do more than once was this wall climb (fire-fighting rescue, I believe). All the other attractions for her height and weight were milder forms of rides she has been on elsewhere.

We also had tickets to the water park, and the line to enter was at least 45 minutes long, even with prepurchased tickets. I understand that it was hot for Carlsbad, but with one ticket machine out of service and the lone ticket checker struggling to keep up, this is a pretty poor way to keep happy customers. And the water park itself was nothing special; what I did notice was every 20 to 30 minutes, the lifeguards would clear all the pools at the exact same time for at least 10 minutes. So just when you are used to the water (appeared to be heated, which is a plus), you had to get out and shiver.

Overall, even with the free kids ticket from a McDonald's promotion, I don't believe it's as good a value as a comparable amusement park. A little too crowded with subpar line management capabilities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeTrotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,296
    1,680
    926
    464
    312
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must for any child (and adult ) :-)”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This will take a minimum of 2 days to get around it all... The first day you get to know the layout and pick the best rides to go on, the second day you know your way around to go back to the ones you missed.... well worth the effort!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are pleased to read from your posting that you had a memorable experience at the park. We thank you for choosing our resort to spend your time. Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“ONLY FOR YOUNG KIDS”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Unless you're planning on bringing young children here with you, stay away. There isn't enough here for older customers, and really speaking my friends 8'year old nephew thought many of the rides lacked thrills. Sure the Lego structures are amazing, and some, including a life size Star Wars Xwing are very impressive, but really for the 70 dollar plus entry fee it's not enough. Only if your kid is a Lego fanatic, consider this park *
Also the way they make you pay 15 bucks for car parking is simply criminal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I had very high expectations”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My kids and I frequent a lot of the theme parks in the (Northern California) Bay Area so they weren't that impressed with LEGOLAND. They loved Mini Land though and stopped at every exhibit to take pictures of everything. The waterpark was average as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good even for munchkins who don't love legos”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took my almost 7yr old daughter, who is not interested at all in legos, but definitely interested in rides and amusement parks. She was the perfect age for this park, will probably be too old soon. She liked that she could go on almost every ride without an adult, but she let us come anyways- they weren't too fast or scary. Some slower rids have deceiving lines- they don't look bad, but the ride moves so slow and only 2 ppl let on at a time, makes for a loooong wait time. We were there for just one day and ran out of time to visit the waterpark. Food was overpriced, as expected. Many of the exhibits are faded and really looking worn, not what I expected for the ticket prices, but she had a good time anyways.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank _megameg_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND California also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing