We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the price”

LEGOLAND California
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$95.99*
and up
LEGOLAND® California
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Legoland California Transportation and Admission
More Info
$169.00*
and up
LEGOLAND California with Transport
Ranked #3 of 66 things to do in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LEGOLAND® California Resort has more than 60 rides, shows and attractions including the new LEGO® Star Wars™: The Force Awakens Miniland Model Display opening March with a 16-foot long Finalizer model made completely out of LEGO bricks plus six more scenes! Conquer dragons, battle pirates and discover ancient treasures at the Resort, also home to LEGOLAND Water Park, SEA LIFE® Aquarium; and NEW for Summer enjoy Surfers’ Cove – a water park expansion featuring racer-water slides. There’s so much to do, you’ll want to spend the night at LEGOLAND Hotel featuring new LEGO NINJAGO themed rooms.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recent visit to San Diego in August with family of four, girls aged 9 and 6. The price was quite expensive for a family of four. We visited all the big four attractions (ie. Seaworld, San diego Zoo and Safari Zoo) and Legoland was the worst one. Disney prices, but not Disney quality. The children had a decent time. The rides were pretty tame and later on in the day, the lines were long. The Starwars models were neat though. The Big Store was also disappointing. We originally thought that there would be the newer models (ie. Girls were interested in Lego Friends), but only had the older ones. The prices were actually cheaper at Target afterwards. Any children about the ages of 10 would likely be bored out of their minds.

Thank DunkmanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us an opportunity to hear from you. Our management team reads every posting as it is important for us to hear from our patrons and continue to improve our Guest's experience. We are sorry that the Park was not as you had hoped, but we will use this feedback for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,832 - 4,836 of 6,343 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

At legoland California, It is a little kids' paradise. But for any kid over the age of 10, it is just plain boring. Where you walk in to the park, they play the same one song on a loop the whole time. the park is very confusing to navigate. Don't even bother coming here if you have 4 hours or less.The lines are long and the rides are not worth waiting in line for. some positive things are that you can enjoy the free water-play area, and the lego sculptures are very neat. overall, the little kids love it but its pretty boring for anybody over 10 or 11. Oh and one more thing- the food is few and far between so good luck.

Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We are pleased to hear from you, but sorry to know that we did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate hearing this kind of feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the Park for the future for our Guests and of course, children of all ages. Thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

took our 3 yr old for the day on a week-long trip to San Diego where we hit a few other major parks. Legoland was fun for him, no real long lines (but was off-season). However, it was amazing to me that there were very few places for adults to sit while watching the kids play and even worse, they seemed to make no efort to provide shade - especially not at the water-play area! There were dozens of adults all standing around watching our children in the unbearable heat - no where to sit and no where to hide from the sun. This was especially surprising as in all the other parks there were benches everywhere, shades and sprays of water to give you some respite.
All in all. it was fun for him but not so much for us.

Thank renajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your posting. We are pleased to hear about your positive and not so positive experiences at the Park. Our management team reviews every posting on TripAdvisor and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We definitely consider this type of feedback when planning future additions to the Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great place for the kids. was easy to get on all the rides with the kids and didnt have to wait in crazy long lines. clean, fun and great food!!

1  Thank trianalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Providing our Guests with a one-of-a-kind, memorable experience is important to all of us here at the Resort. Therefore we appreciate knowing what a great day you had. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Cruise visitors sailing to/from San Diego should say and play. If traveling with children that are between the ages of 2-13 who happen to love Lego bricks, then go to Legoland for sure. Legoland is the perfect place for a pre/post family cruise vacation in San Diego.

Legoland California Resort has more than 60 rides, shows and attractions. Bring extra clothes if going on the water rides in Pirate Shores is on your agenda.

Miniland, Sea Life Carlsbad Aquarium, and Legoland Water Park are our favorite activities.

Thank CruiseBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legolandcalifornia, Guest Relations Manager at LEGOLAND California, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It is wonderful to read your post and discover that we may have exceeded your expectations and provided you and your family with a nice day out. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND California also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing