We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lunch menu with lunch-sized portions and prices!”
Review of Trattoria Positano

Trattoria Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Needs a lunch menu with lunch-sized portions and prices!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Firstly, Tripadvisor categorises the restaurant as Mexican when it is most certainly Italian!

The food is excellent and decor very quaint, but the restaurant was empty at lunch time, with only two other tables occupied.

One problem could be the prices!

I don't mind paying $20 for a bowl of pasta in the evening but it is a little extortionate for lunch - with the bill coming to over $40 for two of us, with no drinks or starters.

They had a specials sheet, but this just comprised regular sized portions and prices.

Shame.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    3
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy in Cardiff”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from our visit to San Diego. We were anxious to try this restaurant since we are always visiting family in Cardiff and never get the chance to explore different places to eat. Loved the atmosphere and the decor in the restaurant. The food was good, but we found it to be unfriendly and it wasn't even crowded. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a good Italian meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarie1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint trattoria with fantastic food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We LOVE this trattoria. It's authentic and the family is very nice. The food has always been perfect.

My husband and I go to Italy almost every year, and this is one of the few places we go in north San Diego when we want great Italian food.

The location is enjoyable, across the road from the beach, and we love to watch sunsets there too.

We have brought several couples with us, and recently I did for a "girls night out". Everyone has loved this quint restaurant. I imagine some people might bring children, but I think it's better for just adults.

Parking is a little difficult, mostly we go around the corner and leave our car on the side street.

I just wish I lived a little closer so we could go more often. (We are about 35 minutes away).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USANancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian with a family ambience”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We liked everything about this place. Calimari and eggplant appetizers were top notch. My veal New York was exceptional. Nice wine selection by the glass or bottle.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDesertFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“How much is?”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have only been to the place twice. The first time we ate dinner at the bar. The food was good the service was good so we decided to bring the teens and return.
OMG...so we ordered a bottle of wine and they didn't have it. Hey thats ok it happens. The owner showed us another bottle and said it id comprable. Well the taste was but the price was double! Are you kidding me? I don't care how great the food taste I won't return. They SHOULD have told us it would be so much more.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Positano also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Trattoria Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing