We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Very Best Donuts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of V.G. Donut & Bakery

V.G. Donut & Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Very Best Donuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Coming from Seattle, where we have Top Pot Donuts, I thought nothing could beat them. VG donuts are as good, if not better. Whenever we are in the area, VG's is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    35
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“LOVE their donuts, but don't touch the pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everyone knows that VG has the best donuts around and have for years, so I thought this same excellence would extend to their pies and ordered some for Thanksgiving. They were so disappointing that it was shocking. But, their donuts are great, so just stick with what they do best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is open late. GO! Their donuts are warm and delicious. I had the raised chocolate covered and they dip them in glaze first, then the chocolate frosting. My husband said the apple fritter was delicious and the kids said they were the best chocolate chip cookies they've ever had! So good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank benandsophiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Minimum Purchase Required”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were walking around town and decided to stop into VG's on the way home for a treat. We noticed that there was a minimum order requirement of either $10 or $25 so we left without getting anything. Come to think of it, nothing behind the glass was priced so maybe 1-2 treats would have been that much. If so, they would be overpriced. We went at an off time when it wasn't busy at all and yet we still couldn't get anyone to serve us to ask for prices on anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
369 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Superb local donut and pastry shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I heard great things about VG's from my friends, and decided to check it out with my husband this morning. We dropped by around 9 AM on a Sunday and the line was out the door! It moved very quickly though - the staff was efficient and friendly. The inside of VG's smelled so good, and everything looked delicious. I got a cinnamon roll, and my husband had a few donuts. The cinnamon roll was not too heavy and sweet - it was perfect. My husband enjoyed the donuts as well. Definitely worth the trip down from Carlsbad for us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V.G. Donut & Bakery also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to V.G. Donut & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing