We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Grate place to visit

We went to visit the lagoon last weekend and was totally surprised wit the things that we got to... read more

Reviewed April 28, 2019
Shalika W
,
San Diego, California
The Lagoon is a Boon

The San Elijo Lagoon is a birder's paradise. Current renovations are due to conclude in 2020, but... read more

Reviewed April 4, 2019
ebdb627
,
East Setauket NY
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
49
18
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
49
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center nature center enjoy nature limited parking ecological reserve bird life great walk migrating birds native plants trail system bird watching water birds preserve habitat information leash shrubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 68 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Sooner or later all migrating birds show up to enjoy this wonderful lagoon. It’s a simple walk over perfect trails which are so easy and relaxing with excellent view points.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank yogiacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

This is the perfect place to take a short walk with your dog or small child. Lagoon is near the beach and has a good view. Good place for when you just walk to walk somewhere but you don't have that much time. Flat.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Monaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018

My wife and I found the Sal Elijo Lagoon Ecological Reserve somewhat disappointing. There is a nice 45-60 min walk on a loop trail from the visitor's center - but most of the other trails were closed - apparently due to work on the nearby rail tracks. Although the lagoon is attractive, any serenity is destroyed by the nearby coast highway as well as the extensive construction on the adjacent railroad.

We were also disappointed by the lack of wildlife. Though we visited in December, we only saw 4 ducks during the visit. It seems that many of the birds normally wintering over were disturbed by the construction.

The reserve has potential - but my advice would be to wait until the construction is complete before planning a visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

The Reserve encompasses nearly 1000 acres and has seven miles of trails through 5 different types of habitat. Over 700 species of plants and animals live there. The Lagoon is a major place on the Pacific flyway so good birding especially in the winter. In Feb-Apr lots of flowers.The San Elijo Lagoon Conservancy and San Diego Parks and Recreation are restoring native plants to the area. Lots of benches along the trails to rest and just enjoy the views. In the evenings you might see the herd of mule deer out feeding. There are free guided walks on Saturday mornings and a nice museum with live native animals. Don't miss Franklin, the desert tortoise! Just a wonderful place to spend some time.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Easy walking trail around the lagoon with informative signs and knowledgeable staff in the learning center.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank crS8435BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews