We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Would stay again”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Best value we found in the SD area. Would like to have stayed on the beach, but wanted a franchised hotel with some confidence in quality of accomodations. Stayed for 5 nights. Reserved a king room at the prepaid rate and they tried to give us a double. After we pointed it out, they put us in a handicap accessible room, but it did have a king bed. Internet could have been faster. Shower water flow was paltry like pretty much any California hotel due to water conservation measures. All in all, though, a great value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puertoboy1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    95
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
94
48
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is simple but perfect for what we needed -- an inexpensive hotel in San Diego's North County. We have stayed at this same location at least half a dozen times over the past 15 years (under at least three different owners) and this was easily the best stay. Everything has been remodeled and is still nice and clean. The pool is pretty barren and the neighborhood is not great. However, everything in North County is close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cntrez2rem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with our one-year-old son. We had a room with a king bed, so there was plenty of space for the portable crib. The room was clean and remodeled. We were close to the freeway, but could not hear it while sleeping. Very helpful staff- one of the toilets was acting up and they came right away to fix it. Very friendly. We had breakfast the next morning. Nothing special, but it was free and we took some of the fruit with us. We would stay here again- great hotel for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressencinitas, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank You for your feedback, We look forward in seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stay here once a week for work. It is honestly the only hotel that I can close my door and relax in a silent and clean room. The floors and bed is free of dirt and grime and the shower is clean enough. I wish they had better shampoo and soap but for the price you pay the hotel is above and beyond!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guaraglia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressencinitas, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for your loyalty, we ensure that your stay with us is a comfortable & enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Not a very friendly staff. They say the have a coffee maker in the room on their website and they don't. They also say they deliver newspaper to room and they don't.. If you are on a budget and want a clean room I recommend it. The free breakfast was good, and they also have a small gym with two treadmills and a bike. There are no signs in the gym saying you need to get the key for they treadmill from the front desk, so I thought they did not work. I did ask for a quiet room and I couldn't hear a pin drop!! Slept like a baby. About a five minute drive to beach, and Enicinitas is a cool little town, so the trip was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambee225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Cardiff by the Sea near Encinitas, CA. I would not recommend this place. The lobby is pretty for this class of hotel but the service was awful. The folks that work there were down right rude and seemed to simply dislike guests. Also, the pool and hot tub felt slimy and dirty. The jets in the hot tub barely work and there are no towels at the pool. The room was ok except that the bathroom area didn't seem totally clean and there were not many choices of channels on the television. Anyone who travels with kids knows this is important.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpressencinitas, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
We apologize for the inconvenience that this have may caused to you. We are working to improve our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esopus
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I had a nice room here. I especially loved the breakfast. Everything is tip-top and the staff were great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Dr, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing