We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant and clean”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here in January and then again in early May. The rates were substantially higher for the same accommodation. Parking in the rear was blocked off for a special event, so the rest of us had a bit of a walk from the car to the room, especially if the room was toward the back. The room itself was clean, pleasant, comfortable, quiet. The staff was pleasant and accommodating as well. If you were in the rear part of the building (away from freeway noise), you had to walk about a block to get ice for your ice bucket as the the machine was on the opposite side of the lobby. Singles pay the same for a room as do a couple for the same room. The value could be a lot better. Breakfast was good with a large variety. Small refrigerator in room is handy.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter. But make sure they don't block off parking in the rear for special g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Maaries,

Thank you for your continued business this year, as we are very pleased you had a chance to stay with us in January and May. I am sorry our parking lot was difficult to navigate during your last stay. Occasionally, we do have a large group staying with us that needs additional space in our parking lot, and I thank you for your patience. I am very pleased our staff took care of you during your stay, and we look forward to doing the same the next time you are in Cardiff. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    95
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
94
48
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just needed a place to stay for two days, and found this Holiday Inn at a very convenient location just off the freeway (I-5). They worked with us on the price, so it was very reasonable. Cardiff is a fun, funky place to visit, but the accommodations in town by the beach are pricey and hard to come by. And we weren't in the mood to camp in the state park. The rooms in the Holiday Inn were clean, in good shape, and spacious. Our room was quiet, because it was in the back. Be sure to avoid the rooms on the freeway side of the building.

Many of these type of hotels have a small free breakfast, but this was different due to the care and diligence of the staff who run it. Quite good.

To me, the most important part of the stay was the friendly staff. They really made you feel welcome and at home.

Room Tip: Be sure to avoid the rooms on the freeway side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pontevecchio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us this May. Your feedback is very valuable for us, and we are pleased we were able to make your time in Cardiff enjoyable. The rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter, due to being away from the I-5 freeway, and we do thank you for writing about this. We hope to take of you again the next time you are in town. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We traveled for my grandson's graduation from the marines. We arrived around midnite and checked in, the checkin wasn't smooth, it took longer than anticipated and not sure why. We needed to get to our room so we could get to sleep because we had to be up early in the am to drive to MCRD in San Diego the next day. Housekeeping came into our room while we were gone, made the beds, gave us clean linen but didn't clean the coffee pot nor gave us any coffee to replace what we had used so the next day we couldn't make our own coffee before we left and the breakfast wasn't open yet before we had to leave to return to MCRD. After we returned that day we asked the front desk for directions to Torrey Pines Golf course and the gal working had no clue where it was and didn't offer to find out for us so we were on our own looking for directions ourselves. We were left with the impression that she didn't care she couldn't help us and didn't even say she was sorry she couldn't help us. The morning we left to go to the airport at 4:30 am, we walked past the front desk to find the employee sleeping. I returned to ask for a receipt and was told that he didn't do the audit until 5 am so I wouldn't be receiving a receipt. That's a first for me ever so I'm going to be watching my credit card billing for any errors from your hotel and praying there aren't any. I've never encountered this ever. The room was adequate, not great, the bathroom was unbearable with the door swinging out into the sink area from the shower. Probably won't return, the personnel weren't really that friendly or helpful. The breakfast was adequate but again nothing too exciting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear sadie594, We are very sorry you experienced issues during your stay with us this May. I am sorry your check-in and check-out were made difficult. Our staff prides itself on being attentive, helpful, and efficient, and the fact that this did not occur during your stay is very displeasing. Due to your feedback, please be assured that we will make sure the staff undergoes further training, so that this does not happen again in the future. We are sorry the bathroom door affected the comfort of the bathroom, and I will make sure to pass along your comments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at (760) 944-0427, so that we can discuss further the issues that took place during your stay.

Sincerely,
Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel was brilliant. From the moment i checked in to the second i left i could not fault anything at all. The room was spotless and clean with everything you could possibly need for a short stay. The staff were fantastic and very friendly at all times from lovely reception staff,cleaner, and the mini bus man brilliant. I stayed here as visiting my partner who was working at st athan during the day i visited local places and staff were only too happy to point out other areas on interest and how to get to them. It was really nice and the staff a real credit to the management of the hotel and the holiday inn brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolakate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

not that far of a drive from the san diego airport and such a nice hotel. We checked in and the front desk staff was very nice. The room was nice, not extra big but nice. the bed was very nice and we got a wonderful night sleep. We had a late check out, and housekeeping did not bound on the door to see if we had left. very nice.
will stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay this April. It is always our goal to accommodate your needs, and I am pleased the late check-out made things easier for you. Getting a good night's sleep is also important, and we are pleased you enjoyed the bed. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Diego. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In today's information age, there is no reason for this hotel's management to have chosen to take the low road to customer service. They have apparently chosen the cheapest of cable TV and internet providers. Travelers shouldn't have to wait 3 1/2 minutes to download 2.6 megabytes of information, and getting to a website should not take forever to connect. What is forever? How about 1/2 minute to one minute on a good day. The speed of this service is atrocious! And the quality of the TV picture is less than travelers deserve, Apparently the management doesn't believe that its customers deserve quality services .... unlike most other HI Expresses that this Priority Club member has stayed with.

It is also exasperating to try to find out what is on television at any time. I asked the front desk who the provider was, since I often check the provider's programing schedule when I'm in a particular city. The folks at the front desk had no idea who the cable provider is. (The TVs are flat screen, but the programming is standard definition. Again, travelers deserve best for upwards of $110 per night.

All other services seem to be average in this motel. The free breakfast menu is at least adequate, and the breakfast room personnel are personable and attentive. The establishment is also fairly close to the beaches and some decent restaurants. Although the bathrooms are pretty small, the rooms are clean, so all is not lost if you happen to stay here. The pool is an outdoor pool and it is heated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with some sunlight. Some rooms in the rear of the hotel are a little dark from what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarlanD505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear HarlanD505,

We are very sorry you experienced issues during your stay with us this April. We are in the process of having the both the internet and the television service upgraded, and we apologize you were not able to properly use the internet during your stay. We hope to have these upgrades complete very soon, and we hope that you will return in the future. If there is anything I can do further, please do not hesitate to contact me at (760) 944-0427.

Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

While traveling we hit a wall of driver's fatigue. We looked on Trip Advisor for a place to stay. We were looking for economy (we were just going to sleep and get back on our way) but were pleasantly surprised. This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and efficient. The price was very reasonable. The rooms and grounds were clean and well kept. Bedding felt luxurious. The breakfast was a nice added bonus. Being right near the highway (although we did not hear highway noises) was very convenient. Glad to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperTouristaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Dr, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing