We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, nicely run!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The HI Express in Cardiff-by-the-Sea offers tremendous value, and is a nicely run hotel. It's close to the 5 (I-5), making it a conventient place to stay for the Encinitas, Solana Beach, and Delmar areas. The included hot breakfast adds value. The room was nice (we had a king with sofa arrangement, that had decent room in it), and the bathroom and furnishings seemed pretty new. San Diego is not too far away, especially the north-side, including La Jolla. But there are nice places to go in the adjacent towns. The rate was very good.

Room Tip: I don't know that room location makes much difference, although perhaps being away from the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 735RobertS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your stay this February. Our location off the I-5 does make it very convenient for getting around North County and Greater San Diego. Thank you for taking the time to let people know. We are glad your room was comfy and the bathroom was clean. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Diego! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 255 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now and like this hotel. Staff is friendly and accommodating!! Rooms are good sized and bed was very nice. Big flat screen to watch. Jacuzzi was nice & hot. Breakfast is ok, not the best but it's FREE. Very close to the beach and QUIET. Close to San Diego but still far enough away..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonestInjun12328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay this February. We are so pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the temperature of the Jacuzzi. We are sorry our breakfast did not meet your needs. If you could let us know what we could have done better, we would really value your feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a day, We loved the location close to food, Gas and minutes from the beach which was so Great. The rooms were clean and spacious we had a king with a sofa, and they offer free breakfast which was decent. Checking in was easy we arrived early and was given a room right away. We will be returning to this hotel the next time were in Cardiff

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denekia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at our hotel this January. Making the check-in process quick and easy is our goal and we are pleased this happened during your check-in. I am happy you were able to take advantage of the food options near the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last three years. It is in a great location. It has become our favorite place to stay in southern california. From the minute you register to the minute you check out the service is above the standard hotel. The ENTIRE staff is so polite and friendly. The hotel itself is so clean (the Lobby sparkles) and the guest rooms are very comfortable and quiet. This last trip we were there an entire week and loved every minute of our stay. The manager(Andrew Nintzel ) is there to please and Hollie McMorris was delightful to deal with (she is the sales manager). We brought friends with us in December and again in January and everyone was very pleased. We are already looking forward to returning in the Fall!

Room Tip: We love the first floor . It is convenient to the fitness room (which we used daily) and the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are so happy you had a great experience at our hotel this January. Thank you for the personal praise, but I am so pleased we could take care of you during your time in Encinitas. Our staff takes great pride in making sure our loyal guests are taken care of, and I will be sure to pass on your praise! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This property was recommended as a place for my daughter to stay with a caregiver following extensive surgery. We wanted quiet, clean, and convenient to the surgery center. We couldn't have been more pleased. Her ground floor room was just steps away from the parking spot. There was a small convenience store right next door that made delicious smoothies, perfect for post surgery. Best of all were the front desk staff. We weren't sure about the length of her stay, and they were extremely flexible, accommodating and friendly. Excellent customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrvlAgtRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Given the circumstances of your stay, we are very happy to hear you were able to have a quiet and comfortable stay… and enjoy the smoothies! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is located right off the freeway and about 15 minutes away from Lego Land. We went on a Thursday night and the place was very quiet. The room was clean and other then an electrical outlet that didn't work was very good for the price. There are two gas stations within 200 feet from the business and it also has a pretty good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveandlanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us this December. Thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness and quality of our guest rooms. We are sorry you experienced issues with the electrical outlet and we will make sure to repair this issue. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Due to my business, I often stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Cardiff by the Sea, California. I have been staying there for years and also bringing clients there.
In the past, I cringed a bit about the way things were run there. But then, about a year ago, I think, a wonderful new manager, Andrew Nintzel came on board.
Andrew immediately initiated positive changes - from staff attitude, to cleanliness, to service to the patrons. There was always a bit of a negative feeling in the past. Now, everyone is smiling, friendly and helpful. This attitude makes a huge difference, and makes people leave with a feeling of hospitality, wanting to return, and being eager to recommend it to their friends, family and business partners.
Andrew is always present and accessible. Always willing to help or just stop and see how things are going, asking about your trip or family or business. I have gotten to know the staff a bit from my frequent stays there, and the staff are vocal about how much happier they are with Andrew in charge. And we all know that from maintenance to cleaning to dining to front desk, every level has an effect on the clients. Having staff members be happy with management means everything will run more smoothly; things will get done more quickly and efficiently; and the attitude of the entire operation will be maximized in a positive way in its effect on the visitors.
Congratulations to the Holiday Inn Express in Cardiff, CA for bringing on such a dynamic, positive and hard working manager in Andrew Nintzel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Dr, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $86 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing