We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I needed a place to stay during my trip to visit friends in Cardiff this Thanksgiving week. I found this hotel and I am very happy that I did! When I checked in I was greeted by a warm welcome from Edilie. When I thought I had left my wallet at my last stop in LA, I was panicked. Much to my surprise both Edilie, and her Manager, Andrew were terrific and very understanding. I was checked in without any problems (I had made the reservation earlier) and luckily found my wallet in my car. Both Edilie and Andy were so helpful and welcoming. The hotel is very near so many things including the beach and has a nice lobby and breakfast area. The room itself is large, clean and lovely. Holly, who works the front desk in the evening, continued to extend my positive review and experience at this hotel. I would come back again when I am down this way and have recommended the hotel to my friends in who live nearby for their other visitors from out of town.

EMK

Room Tip: Away from the highway is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are so happy you had an amazing experience with us this Thanksgiving week. Thank you for the individual praise as well. Our staff takes great care in making sure that we can provide outstanding service, especially in a time of urgency. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    95
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
94
48
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent value for money and hotel well located for beach and shopping. Greeted well on arrival and found the decor really good as I reckon the hotel was recently refurbished? Comfy bed and spacious room. The excellent breakfast and free wifi were an added bonus to our 3 night stak.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so pleased you had an outstanding stay with us this November. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take great pride in maintaining the cleanliness and quality of our hotel, and we are very happy you noticed this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week during a vacation, and don't have many complaints at all. You get what you pay for, and for the about $55/night I paid, I am satisfied. Its not the Ritz, but it is clean, and the staff is friendly. Breakfast isn't too bad either, although I wish some of the food was not so leathery from sitting under lamps while people peruse. Its about a mile to the shore, a very quick drive down Birmingham road and you are literally there in a wink. The proximity to Encinitas and downtown is perfect and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel. It is great that you choose to stay at our hotel during your time in Encinitas. As you mentioned, we may not be the Ritz, but we take great pride in providing excellent service and accommodations for our valued guests. We are sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations, but we hope to make sure you have a better experience the next time you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place had been highly recommended by a friend. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the staff were very courteous and professional. They were so nice, always greeting us with a smile. We were impressed by their breakfast menu and service. We enjoyed the room. It was clean, quiet and spacioust. We felt very comfortable. For sure, we will pass on the good word about this hotel and come back whenever we think about coming down to San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in making sure we can create an enjoyable, unique experience for our guests, and I am very pleased this occurred during your stay. I am also pleased you picked our hotel based on the wonderful review from your friend. We hope you can spread the word as well! We look forward to taking care of you again in the near future. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff is prompt, professional, patient, kind and accommodating. It is clear that they all get along well and work together as a team. The room was spotless and quiet. The service and cleanliness was better than at many 5-star hotels at which I have stayed. The hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 5, as well as less than a 5-minute drive to the beach, fabulous shops, and a great variety of restaurants. I am looking forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Pet-friendly rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful praise. I am very happy you had an outstanding stay at our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in their work, and they will be very happy to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I chose to stay here while on a road trip because it was so convenient and close to interstate 5. There are 3 gas stations surrounding the hotel just walking distance away. This is a perfect spot for travelers passing through, or for anyone visiting the area.
As I walked into the hotel, I could tell immediately that it was newly renovated. Everything looked new and the lobby had that "new building smell." The girl and the front desk was friendly and very helpful as well.
The first thing I noticed when I entered my room was how spacious it was. The King size bed was extremely comfortable and everything was new and spotless. There was a living area with a large couch that had a pullout bed. It was a little odd to see such a big room with such a small bathroom though. I was happy to see that despite the lack in size of the bathroom, the water pressure was solid.
Next door to the hotel is an awesome taco shop that is a must! Just walk out the lobby doors and and experience the best tacos the area! no joke.
Holiday Inn Express also offers free breakfast which was average but I can't complain about free food.
Overall, I think this is a very good hotel and would recommend it. If I were to visit Encinitas or the Carlsbad area, this would be my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maikolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am very happy you had a comfortable experience during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable for us. I am very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of the bed and the water pressure in the shower, as these things are very important when it comes to comfort. The taco shop next to the hotel is outstanding and we are glad you had a chance to enjoy their menu. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Encinitas. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I wanted to update my review of March 12, 2012 “Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Service”. Last month my mother’s health required another visit to her doctor in San Diego and one minor surgery. My second phone call after setting her surgery date was to Andrew at the Holiday Inn Express. As my parents are elderly and are insecure about traveling, I can’t express my gratitude enough to the staff at the Holiday Inn Express. Again, Andrew and his staff went out of their way to make my parents feel welcome and taken care of. When my mother was in the hospital and my father was alone at the hotel, the staff made extra certain that my father was comfortable. The over and above attention to detail that this hotel gives its guests is truly commendable.
Lastly I just need to say that besides staying with family, I couldn’t think of a safer, more hospitable place for my parents to stay during an out of town visit.
Thank you again for another wonderful stay at your hotel.
Sincerely,
Renee C

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
It is always a wonderful pleasure to take care of your parents when they come to Encinitas for a family visit. Thank you for the individual praise. Also, thank you for crediting our safety and hospitality, as we are always trying to keep our loyal guests safe. See you soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Dr, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing