We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Excellent staff! Loved my stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place! Excellent staff! Loved my stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything was excellent from the moment I arrived. The front desk attendant was extraordinarily nice. The room I got was fantastic - clean, spacious, and quiet. I absolutely loved my stay and would gladly return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am so happy you had a wonderful stay with us. It is so great to see that from the moment you checked-in to the moment you checked-out everything was fantastic. Our staff will very much enjoy receiving your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
92
48
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I usually stay at Hiltons, but this time I needed reasonable priced one nighter. I am very satisfied with the service from the moment I walked in to my check out. The people here are great. They even pointed me to a little taco shop a walk away...excellent food by the way. the room layout and feel is excellent. Very spacious rooms, very clean and new. Very quiet building, very little road sound. The beds were a pleasure to sleep on. And the internet speed was very good. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.. I picked up this room on priceline for a reduced rate and I was very happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jawmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We very much appreciate you staying with us during your trip to Encinitas. We know that with the multiple choices travelers have, it is very important to meet your needs the first time around. I am very happy the room met your standards and that we were able to offer a comfortable night's sleep for a good price. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Andrew NIntzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We wanted to get away for the night and not spend an arm and a leg. Found this reasonable hotel online. Upon arrival, we were so impressed! Hotel staff very nice. Gave us tips on where to eat (yummy fish tacos!) Room was roomy and clean. Easy fwy access to many great casinos. Breakfast was delicious (and included) We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 287Ruth_L287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
It is so nice to know that we made an excellent impression on you from the moment you arrived. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come down from LA. Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very clean, very well located to the beach in the beach community of Cardiff by the sea, and we really were thankful that the staff helped us print our boarding pass for our flight back to Albuquerque. Our room was very nice, and the housekeeping staff was very friendly, especially when we asked her if she could clean our room several hours after we left the hotel. This hotel must have the right management because we have stayed at other hotels in the past and haven't received this sort of service before. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful; gave us directions to the nearest beaches and provided towels when we returned. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub and complimentary breakfast (more fresh fruit would be a great addition :) We are always treated with kindness and respect at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j2jchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I stay frequently at holiday inn expresses for work and figured I would use the Cardiff based one while working in the area. Upon arrival, the lobby looks nice and the staff was friendly. The rooms are a different story. The door is old and dingy with chipped paint and dings all over it. The room is dark and not well kept. It just felt dirty. The bathroom was terrible. There were visible dark hairs on the bathroom floor, the towels were old and crisp. The bath tub was old with peeling slip guard strips, a drain that was sticking half out with what looked like mold around it. The water shot out in what I'm assuming was a massage style- it was shooting out pumps of water. Overall it was really gross. I considered wearing flip flops in the shower but decided to not get them wet so I could wear them around the room and not have to step on the carpet.
We checked in late at night so we couldn't leave- we definitely checked out early and canceled our reservation for that night. *** the manager on site was very, very nice and accommodating. The lady at the front desk first told us she would have to charge us because house cleaning had left for the day (while she told us this the house keepers were passing by to clean our halls rooms) even though we are priority members with them. The manager happened to stop by while we were speaking with her and he said it was no problem at all. I really appreciate him working with us and accomodating our needs. He is a class act. Thank you!!

As we were packing our bags to leave I noticed a very large bug on the wall. My friend told me it was a cockroach. It was huge. Wish I took a picture but was so skeeved out and wanted to get out.

Moral of the story. Don't stay here. Do yourself a favor and book at Hotel Indigo in Del Mar. It is a hotel in the Holiday Inn chain, much nicer, and a much better location!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tronkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Tronkr,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We needed a quick, easy, affordable stay in San Diego's North County. This hotel turned out to be a gem! Rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful--make sure to try the pancake machine. (Although I recommend the short drive to VG's donuts!) Hotel is very close to the freeway and not too far from the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway. Noise might be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing