We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My favorite hotel in the area. We’ve stayed here five times in the last couple of years. Good location, set back off the freeway, one mile from the beach, one mile from Scripps Hospital, less than five miles from the Del Mar Fairgrounds. The service was excellent – desk staff was very kind, attentive, responsive to all of our needs and eager to accommodate. The rooms themselves were great – spacious, clean, well laid out, comfortable beds, recently remodeled and pleasantly decorated. A generous bathtub and big sink area, flat screen tv, coffee pot, mini-fridge, blow dryer, wonderful free breakfast buffet with nice selection (- including a pancake machine!), free internet in the lobby (one computer with printer) were all definite pluses. There was a gym, pool and jacuzzi (which we didn’t use) and a conference room. There are less expensive hotels in the area, but this hotel is a bargain and easily offers the best quality for the money. We will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ptitericaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    95
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
93
48
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We took three amateur boxers from Las VEgas to a bout in Encinitas and headquartered in the Holiday Inn Express at nearby Cardiff By the Sea. It was an outstanding experience all the way around. Price was right, service was excellent, rooms were clean, roomy, and new. Athletes used the hot tub, the breakfast was better than any price included breakfast I've ever stayed in. We'll always go to this hotel when in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TBird474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the HIE Encinitas-Cardiff area for three nights. The room was wonderfully comfortable, and the bed was as good as our bed at home. Another plus was that the room was really quiet, good insulation in the walls I guess.Being vegans, we brought breakfast food and ate their cereal, but any mainstream eater would be satisfied. We used the treadmill (they have two of them) every day, as the area is a little too hilly for walking. We'd definitely stay at this reasonable hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the quiet (non-freeway) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VeganChela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The room here are very large. The wireless is not too dependable. It can be quite a walk from parking to your room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustMyOpinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is in the great condition! The pool, especially, was very relaxing after a long day of work. My room seemed like it was a brand new room, with a very comfortable bed and it was easy to work at the desk when I had work to get done. The staff at this hotel is amazing, each time I wanted to go out to the pool with my other friends staying at the hotel, they were always prepared to give me a pool towel and wish me a wonderful day! The breakfast at this hotel is very filling, and the breakfast attendant was extremely attentive to what we wanted to eat. This hotel is very close to ocean, so it was nice to go down to Cardiff state beach with my buddies during the weekend. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JhChoi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I recently stayed at this Hotel for a big CFA Cat Show that was at the Del Mar Fairgrounds. It took less than 5 min. to get to the Fairgrounds from Hotel. Lots of Restaurants close by, easy Freeway access. The Breakfast that was provided every morning was great, good food and a clean enviroment. All of the staff were very friendly and willing to do anything that was needed.
Had to get up early both mornings so went to bed early at night and was not a problem, this was a very quiet Hotel, the outside area seemed like a safe enviroment. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FELICIA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwang Ju
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel was able to meet all of my needs! The breakfast was fantastic and the service at the front desk was wonderful! I was attending classes at one of the local universities in the area, and everytime I needed help with the internet, the front desk was able to guide me through the steps. The room was clean, looked brand new, and the bed was very comfortable! Because I was traveling from a different country, it was nice to know that this hotel was so willing to take care of my needs. I hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mun-ku K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff-by-the-Sea
0.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.1 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Address: 1661 Villa Cardiff Dr, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007-1153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas > Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. We are located less than a half-mile from the beach, and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area Hotel Cardiff By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing