We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House - CLOSED

Beach House
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 101
Description: A relaxing afternoon watching the surfers at Cardiff Reef or a romantic evening with the sun setting over the sea...the exciting new cuisine of recently-arrived acclaimed executive chef Michael Ingino...the value of our famed daily Happy Hour and nightly Sunset Specials...two heated outdoor patios so close to the sea you might just get splashed, al fresco dining at its finest...the energy and excitement of the Top of the House Grill, the comfort of our dining room...Lunch, Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, and Dinner...Cuisine, Service and Value to match the stunning views...The Beach House...Lobster, Fine Steaks, Fresh Fish...World Class Wines, cool Libations and Martinis...on the beach in Cardiff by the Sea, two miles north of the Del Mar racetrack.
Oceanside, California
1 review
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Don't waste your time if you want service, comfort and excellent food. We made reservations 2 weeks in advance for a birthday and anniversary dinner expecting that we could have a wonderful time as we always do on this annual dinner. The reservations were for an early dinner because the birthday person is 83. The table was broken; the extension flaps hung down and pressed on our legs and one chair backed up to a wall there it tipped forward uncomfortably and rocked very badly. We ask for a different table but were told there was nothing available and could go upstairs. We were not escorted and when we got there we found no dining tables for 4, just a bar and bar tables. We went back down and ask to get a different table but were told again the she didn't have one. The hostess took us back to the bad table and put a napkin under the chair leg and we suffered thru the remainder of the dinner with uncomfortable seating and poor service. We watched other couples come and go before we had dinner served and some of the tables would have accommodated 4 but they put 2 at tables that were in good condition. The waiter was obviously not trained, and was not very attentive. He reached over the table several times, had to be ask to get water and coffee refills and was again reaching with hot coffee. All in all the food was so-so and the service would have been better at Denny's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    39
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, but not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location on the beach but service at lunch was a bit disappointing given the number of customers dining. We ordered drinks upon sitting down and waited quite a while before they came and no bread or napkins were provided. The apps were OK - oysters and New England clam chowder - being from Boston, the chowder was just OK. For lunch we ordered paella and bacon wrapped shrimp with BBQ sauce and slaw which was good. We did have to again wait for the bill. This must have been an off day as my friend has been many times and never experienced this type of service. The valet was nowhere to be found upon leaving.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Waukomis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“...Just Beach-y!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Continuing our afternoon "roamin n grazin" (a little snack here, a little snack there) drive down the southern California coast from Oceanside to San Diego, we stopped at the Beach House at Cardiff by the Sea.
We opted to sit outside on the lower patio, in the sunshine, at sturdy wrought-iron tables with comfy chairs, and an amazing ocean view. Server Chris was a pleasure, serving our cocktails and allowing us ample time to soak up the flavor of this iconic beach restaurant.
We shared freshly shucked Oysters on the Half Shell, a cup of creamy Clam Chowder, and a light and fresh Chopped Vegetable Salad that included romaine lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, zucchini, corn, bacon, and avocado, with a light house vinigrette.
Great food and location and service, lotsa sunshine with the surf rolling in...a mesmerizing experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Service is very good and fast-almost too fast as we did not have time to linger. We should have taken our glass of wine upstairs to listen to the guitar player. The restaurant is dated and worn. Really needs a facelift. Lots of nicer restaurants nearby. The temperature outside was cold but upstairs was nice and toasty. Downstairs they offered gas heaters.
There is only valet parking. I don't like the valet parking signage that states "tipping appreciated" as if we are a bunch of cave men that don't know any better. Other signage outside with daily specials was on the ground and when leaving that sign was still on the ground as if no one cared enough to clean up the entry way, but the tipping sign was secure in its spot.
For my 100 dollar 2 person dinner with 3 total glasses of wine I think my money will be spent elsewhere next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank highflyerSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view but not much else to offer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Disappointed in the quality of food, slow service. The food is nothing extraordinary for the price. The view was the best of all so I would recommend just going to the bar and for a drink and an appetizer, but not for dinner. They had a Skimpy waiting staff who was too busy for us. The bathroom was dirty. I really do not recommend this place, go elsewhere!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing