We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place sucks”
Review of Beach House - CLOSED

Beach House
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 101
Description: A relaxing afternoon watching the surfers at Cardiff Reef or a romantic evening with the sun setting over the sea...the exciting new cuisine of recently-arrived acclaimed executive chef Michael Ingino...the value of our famed daily Happy Hour and nightly Sunset Specials...two heated outdoor patios so close to the sea you might just get splashed, al fresco dining at its finest...the energy and excitement of the Top of the House Grill, the comfort of our dining room...Lunch, Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, and Dinner...Cuisine, Service and Value to match the stunning views...The Beach House...Lobster, Fine Steaks, Fresh Fish...World Class Wines, cool Libations and Martinis...on the beach in Cardiff by the Sea, two miles north of the Del Mar racetrack.
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place sucks”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stooped with 3 friends today for cocktails and apps. After being seated in a corner and IGNORED for twenty minutes ( and they were not even busy ) we WALKED OUT !! If you want LOUSY SERVICE this is the place to go !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    39
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view! I cannot wait to go back!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I started off with a bad opinion as when I called to make a reservation, the person who answered, I believe her name was Elizabeth?, asked for what time... said one moment... and never came back on the line. SO we just drove to the restaurant, which was empty inside. When I asked if they had a table for three by the water, the women said in a very snotty voice, "I have 262 reservations for tonight, you can go up to the bar". The bar was fine with us. So I was pretty irritated at this point.... until we went upstairs and the entire experience changed. We found a table outside on the patio with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Dolpins were swimming not far off the beach and the sun was setting. It was cold outside, but the view was so amazing we barely noticed. PLUS it was happy hour, so we got three delicious appetizers and drinks for three for $60. Our waitress was wonderful and cheerful. Did I mention the view ... AWESOME! I cannot wait to go back on my next visit. Plus the city of Cardiff By The Sea was very charming and I would like to take the time to look around more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyndsyintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sitting on the Beach for Dinner, a Unique Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is actually a double review, one part about using a Groupon coupon for dinner and the other about using their standard menu. Groupon coupons, essentially half price "deals" to encourage diners to try a particular restaurant, are usually just that using the main menu as a basis. At the Beach House their Groupon coupon is a "Pris Fixe" special menu offering (on this particular sunday night) four appetizer options, four different entrees and three choices for dessert. You pick one of each category.

Seating for all Groupon users is in the lower inside dining room, literally on-the-beach. The sunset was magnifico from our table at the window. Regular diners have the outside seating using their regular menu as well as all inside and outside tables upstairs. A bar and lounge area upstairs, with music entertainment various nights, completes the choices. There is even an alcove downstairs with a table for twelve ready for any larger party.

Back to the Groupon menu which was not just any ordinary selections. Appetizers selections were Lobster Bisque, Maryland style crab cake, New England clam chowder or a Caesar salad. Entrees' offered were a 6oz Lobster Tail, Hosin-Glazed Salmon, New York steak or Linguini Pomodoro with grilled chicken. Desserts that night were cheesecake in raspberry sauce, Tiramisu or vanilla ice cream. I opted for the crab cake, lobster tail and Tiramisu while my wife had the lobster bisque, New York steak and the cheesecake. Appetizers were good and he entrees and desserts were excellent.

The poor mark for service was due to being there at the most crowded time and they were obviously at least one server short. They made more than adequate amends and we were happy campers.

The Beach House is a fun and romantic spot all the year. Gas heaters on the outside dining areas take the chill off the cool evening breezes from the close-by surf. Parking is by valet only for $4 as parking along Cardiff Beaches is slim to none much of the time. Family meals or a romantic dinner, head To the Beach House.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phineasfogg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Early Bird Specialis”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food was delicious and the view was perfect on the heated patio! They have great early bird specials if you get their before 7! You can get right-sized portions of just about any entree for around $15. You can't do any better for a seaside patio dinner at that price. The service is top-notch and the atmosphere is terrific.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
184 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were there for Easter Brunch. Eight adults and four kids. Good food, quickly served. Drinks were better in the Bar than in the restaurant. Because the place was packed, it was noisy! We have eaten there before as you can not beat the location - right ON the beach! And after Brunch the kids ran to the beach and had a ball. Kudos to the Valet Parking staff - dealing with too many cars and not enough space. This place is next to the Chart House which looked quiet and sedate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing