We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pipes Cafe

Pipes Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went here by a recommendation from a local. Can't go wrong. We were here for a late breakfast and the place was packed on a Wednesday. I had the Seaside Bacon Scrambler. Had we known how big the portions were, we wouldn't have ordered French Toast and Bacon too. We tried to finish it all but just couldn't. The service was great and it was nice seeing the cooks preparing everything fresh as you order. Since it was chilly outside, we stopped by the coffee bar on the way for a stroll along the beach. They are only open for breakfast and lunch. Will try lunch next time we are in the area. Not a sit down restaurant, you order at the counter and your food is brought out to you. Bring CASH, this is the only form of payment they except. If you do forget, there is an ATM in the back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymous d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    56
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast can't get any better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This casual dining has great breakfast food and a lot of it...you won't be needing lunch. I had a burrito and cut it into 2 , took half back to our camping at San Elijo State Park..we always stop by on our trips, great food, fast, friendly. Has outdoor seating...its a small but busy place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank puddyfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the mandatory stops when you visit San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pipes (named after the surfer term, the "pipe" of the wave) is no longer a restaurant, but an institution and a tradition. It is where the locals and the tourists from the nearby state park camping area meet. Very relaxed and friendly. Their motto is, "No shirt and no shoes, no problem!" Sure, the food is great and the prices are reasonable, but it is the location and the atmosphere that makes this place special.

The coffee and orange juice are always good, and I really enjoy their french toast and their unique Pipes potatoes. The wraps and burritos are to die for, but you better come hungry. Their fame comes from their breakfasts, but they also serve good lunches. I have never gotten up early enough to find out when they open, but I know they close at 3:00 PM. They don't do dinner.

It is fun to sit outside and watch the beach people go by, and watch the trains zoom through Cardiff. Note: this is a dog-friendly restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pontevecchio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breakfast casual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great breakfast burritos and eggs (plus pancakes, etc.). Simple food but very (very) fresh and delicious. Sit out on the deck and just relax - or sit inside and enjoy the surf memorabilia.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is "good" not great, but the price is great! Make sure to bring cash because that is all they take. If you go on the weekend plan on waiting in line for at least 10 minutes, but it goes fast and the food will be delivered in about 15 minutes. If you are staying at San Elijo State Beach you can walk over for a yummy breakfast burrito that is enough for 2 people.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trigirl92014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipes Cafe also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Pipes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing