We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location”

Pacific Coast Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacific Coast Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Now on the ocean in Cardiff, PCG is a hip and artistic trip for your senses. Feast on extraordinary Pacific Coast Cuisine in visually stunning surroundings. The Pacific Coast Grill is a place to see and be seen and most of all, to enjoy.
Summerland, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location,location,location”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was excited to see the new PCG after it had sat there closed for years. The new PCG is very open and bright and the ocean views are amazing. We were having appetizers while watching some whales of shore. Yes really whalle watching from the upstairs deck was really a joy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animosativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    177
    59
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Super fresh seafood and a pleasant ocean view.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ate dinner at Pacifc Coast Grill on a Sunday night and found it to be delightful and a good value for the money. The table of four shared two orders of raw oysters. - Heavenly! My husband and I ordered seafood pasta, which was outstandingly fresh and so generous, we took half home to eat for dinner the next night. The wine list was excellent and offered one of our favorites - "Hitching Post" pinot noir. Our relatives ordered Ahi and crabcakes and were delighted with their meals as well. We were told that tons of sand had recently been added to the beach outside, so the lights allowed us to see the waves crashing beyond a nice stretch of white sand. We sat in a booth across from the large picture windows, away from the main dining room. The location was perfect for dining conversation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expected more for the price”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We used to go to this restaurant when they were located in a different location and liked the food. not sure what happened after they moved, but it's not the same. Views of the ocean are awesome, but food was not as well seasoned as we remembered. My wifes Ahi Tuna was very good, but my chili rubbed steak was very bland and tasteless. We also ordered an sushi roll appetizer described as being "habenero infused" but there was no spice to the taste at all. Wife and her friend really enjoyed the house martinis and wine was good. Just not sure I will go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMichaelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food and Views”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We dined here two nights ago and it was excellent. The service, food and atmosphere were all great. Have been there many times and will be back many more times.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Too crowded for us”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We don’t typically go to crowded places on Friday nights but we were visiting our son and his wife and that was the only time they had free. Valet parking was jammed but we got taken care of in a reasonable period of time (noting that valet parkers had appropriated, inappropriately, the only disabled spot for a car without a disabled permit, a hot button of mine as I am disabled).

The table we were given was in the main dining room close to the bar and it was exceptionally noisy. The four of us had to lean in to carry on a reasonable conversation. Tables were jammed together much too closely for my taste. Our server was pleasant and functionally attentive given the crowds. The food runner was very friendly and solicitous. Unfortunately, my wife’s scallops were overcooked as was all of the seafood in my seafood pasta. This might be a good venue on a less-crowded evening and the kitchen might be able to deliver a better product as well. They missed with us. We did not get value for our large amount of money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Coast Grill also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Pacific Coast Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing