We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Birmingham/ Lomas Santa Fe
Description: You’ll have a front-row seat to catching waves & panoramic Southern California sunsets at this magnificent oceanfront Chart House located near San Diego. A modern and open decor makes the most of its location with windows that open the entire restaurant to its natural environment. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 30 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From top-of-the-catch seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi, Miso Glazed Salmon & our slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines and decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great restaurant just because it is right on the beach. You can almost reach out and touch the water! What wonderful views of the ocean! Food is always good, as would be expected at any Chart House.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    96
    62
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stunning View, Mediocre Food, and Stunning Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

For decades I have visited this chain of restaurants up and down the California coast, and am still amazed at how consistent they are at each location. They always have great locations and stunning views of the ocean, but the food is consistently mediocre and prepared with careless abandon. This time was worse than most, probably due to the very busy holiday weekend.

The waiter had a great personality and was quite well-intended, but knew little about the food and the restaurant operations. The service was slow and not very good, mainly because he was too busy. My wife had scallops, which tasted nice, but were somewhat over-cooked, as were the "Asian Beans" (seemed to have been sitting in the pot since early this morning). I had a grilled yellowtail steak that was massively over-cooked, dried out, and really tough (was it leftover from yesterday?). Tuna from a can would have been more moist and more tender.

You can buy wine by the glass, but you only get one eigth liter per glass. In the end, the waiter gave us the wrong check (for a party of eight, instead of for the two of us). The second time the check was wrong again. The third time it came out correctly. You have to watch these guys like a hawk. In conclusion, one appetizer, two meals, and two glasses of wine: $120. But we really enjoyed the location and the view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pontevecchio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Glistening Waves in the Evening Light!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I were treated very courteously and efficiently. A table by the open window was made available after a very short wait. The server and, eventually, the manager came by to discuss my wife's gluten-free needs. She was wonderfully accommodated and enjoyed a tasty dinner. The walkway just outside the open eating area was lined with huge boulders as a breakwater. The lighting from the restaurant made the incoming waves glisten. What a romantic setting this provided! After awhile, those of us at the window side asked for the sliding windows to be shut due to the cold condition that arose. It was done immediately. The manager stopped by to see if our food met our tastes several times. We enjoyed the ambiance and shared a dessert offering with coffee to close out the evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All about the view...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The view from this restaurant is nothing shy of amazing! The food, however, was sub par. It was Mother's Day so went for brunch and ordered clam chowder and seafood quiche. Chowder was a actually very good but the quiche was just plain bad with the potatoes literally I edible and the fruit way over ripe. Expected a lot more quality wise and portion of Quiche was very small at $15.99. Other surrounding meals looked pretty hood so I will give it one more try perhaps during happy hour special time. The view though is literally off the charts!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great shore views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an early dinner. The standout was the view - due to the Santa Ana winds, it was spectacularly clear. In addition the the ocean waves, we also enjoyed seeing wind surfers and people strolling along the beach. The food was good - surprisingly my husband's braised short ribs were the standout. The service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLindseySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing