We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a good location”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Best Western Capitola by the Sea is a newly remodeled. modern, very comfortable hotel. The rooms are large, well maintained and pleasant. The pool and hot tub are in excellent condition, the staff is friendly and ready to help. The hotel is located on a main street several blocks away from the ocean and close to two malls, not as picturesque as the name ("By-the-Sea") would suggest, but not a hindrance either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Jog4fun,

Thank you for acknowledging the hard work that our staff puts in to maintain our lovely hotel and in welcoming our guests and accommodating every request that we are able to. I do apologize if our name was misleading. The full name of the city of Capitola is Capitola By-the-Sea. That is where we get the name from. You're not the first to comment on this and won't be the last. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    178
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
258
200
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I felt incredible welcomed since I talk with the front desk guy from my home. Great, friendly environment, it was like home away from home.... Stay put for these guys.... We did not hear anything outside our room. The mattress was of excellent quality... We slept as if we were at home, which is not normal in a hotel for us... Great breakfast... Everything was pristine...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Eduardo,

Thank you so much for the kind words. Our staff loves the feedback. I'm glad you felt at home with us, that is what we strive for. When you are here we want you to be as comfortable as you would be in your own home.

Kindest Regards,

Jason Raney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for the weekend. Love that they have a sink in the bathroom and a sink outside the bathroom. Place is very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The location is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snikcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We'll look forward to your next visit.

With Hospitality,

Jason Raney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we go to the Santa Cruz area. It is close to the beaches and surfing. Also near a shopping center and lots of places to eat. Also there is a movie theatre near the hotel. It is great and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Diane,

You're the best. We always love it when you two come to town. Sorry I wasn't around much this time. But we'll see you again soon.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This little hotel is a great value. You are walking distance to Pleasure Point restuarants & shops and a 5 minute drive a number of beaches - our favorite is Capitola Beach. Breakfast is included, heated pool and hot tub for relaxing after a long day at the beach with the kids. It is clean, there is a mini fridge and a big jacuzzi tub. Great value for the price when you need a quick family getaway. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hotel. Those Whirlpool tub rooms are very relaxing. Call us directly next time you need a beach getaway, we're more than happy to assist with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with our 3 children. Had a wonderful time. Pool and hotel very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely come stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 165alexandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Alexandra,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We look forward to your return. When you are ready to make another reservation call us directly, we are happy to assist in making your reservation personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our babysitter checked out our children as I had to leave early for work (we had a few nights out due to home repairs) and she left my son's shoes and nightlight. Our housekeeper put our items with our room number at the front desk so when I called we could easily find them. I was impressed with her thoughtfulness and the cleanliness of our room. Our kids also loved the pool and the make your own waffles at breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly/cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Kelly/cynthia,

I'm glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your family in a time of need. Nobody likes being displaced from their home even temporarily. If the need ever arises again, don't hesitate to give us a call.

Kindest Regards,

Jason Raney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Address: 1435 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Best of the Best" award-winning hotel is only eight blocks from quaint Capitola Village, California's oldest seaside resort, and three miles from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Santa Cruz Wharf. We are at the center of a vacationer's paradise. Stroll through art galleries, antique shops, local wineries and majestic redwood forests. Observe the migration of elephant seals, gray whales and Monarch butterflies. Miles of beaches offer world-class surfing, fishing, boating and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Hotel Capitola
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn And Suites
Best Western Capitola
Capitola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing